People


Full-time Faculty

Hope Amason (PhD, cultural anthropology) Director of Museum of Culture & Environment. On sabbatical 2024-2025. Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South; Hope.Amason@cwu.edu

Steven Hackenberger (PhD, archaeology) Cultural ecology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures; Steven.Hackenberger@cwu.edu

Nicole Jastremski (PhD, biological anthropology) Forensics Certificate Program Coordinator. Forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, mortuary analysis, paleopathology, taphonomy, identity formation, Ecuador; Nicole.Jastremski@cwu.edu

Patrick Lubinski (PhD, archaeology) Department Chair. Zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America; Pat.Lubinski@cwu.edu

Jessica Mayhew (PhD, biological anthropology) Primate social behavior and socio-cognition, ethnoprimatology, the large-bodied apes, play behavior; Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Patrick McCutcheon (PhD, archaeology) Evolutionary theoretical perspectives, fieldwork and laboratory methods, archaeometry, lithic analysis, cultural resource management, North American prehistory; Patrick.McCutcheon@cwu.edu

Lene Pedersen (PhD, cultural anthropology) Visual anthropology, symbolic anthropology, ecological anthropology, ritual, social organization, post-colonialism, southeast Asia (Indonesia), circumpolar north, sub-saharan Africa, natural resource management; Lene.Pedersen@cwu.edu

Lori Sheeran (PhD, biological anthropology) Primates of Asia, primate conservation, primate social behavior; Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Karisa Terry (PhD, archaeology) Paleolithic adaptations, hunter-gatherer-fishers, migration, evolutionary archaeology, chipped stone, ceramics, Northeast Asia; Karisa.Terry@cwu.edu

Penglin Wang (PhD, linguistic anthropology) Linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China; Penglin.Wang@cwu.edu

Staff and Part-time Faculty

Penelope Anderson (BA, Secretary Senior) Penelope.Anderson@cwu.edu

Lynn Bethke (MA, Museum of Culture & Environment Collections Manager) Museum collections care, object preservation, museum technology, museum administration, exhibit design; Lynn.Bethke@cwu.edu

Lourdes Henebry-DeLeon (MA, NAGPRA Director) Repatriation, indigenizing bioarcheology/human remains documentation, restorative methodologies, histories of collecting and collectors, intangible cultural heritage, North America; Lourdes.Henebry-Deleon@cwu.edu

Angela Neller (MA, Lecturer, Research Associate) Museums, repatriation, rights of indigenous peoples, curation, community collaboration, indigeneity and decolonization, cultural resource management; Columbia Plateau, Hawaii

Rodrigo Rentería-Valencia (PhD, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies)  Environmental anthropology, linguistic anthropology, semiotics, visual anthropology, ritual and performance theory, human geography, maritime anthropology, indigenous studies, the greater Southwest (including northern Mexico); Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Kathleen Barlow (PhD, cultural anthropology)

Linda Klug (PhD, linguistic anthropology)

William Smith (PhD, archaeology)

CWU News

CWU ceramics graduate discovers her true self through art

June 18, 2024

by

Spring edition of Crimson & Black magazine is now available

June 17, 2024

by

More News

Questions? Contact Us.


Department of Anthropology and Museum Studies

Department Secretary:
357A Dean Hall
1200 Wildcat Way
(509) 963-3201
Penelope.Anderson@cwu.edu

Department Chair:
338 Dean Hall
1200 Wildcat Way
(509) 963-3601
Pat.Lubinski@cwu.edu
Give to Anthropology