Skip to body

College of the Sciences


College of the SciencesScience II Building

Message from the Dean

Welcome to the College of the Sciences.

The College of the Sciences is comprised of thirteen academic departments and  eight interdisciplinary programs in the natural, behavioral, social, and computational sciences. The college is also home to a number of affiliated programs focused on education, student learning, and research projects. We are proud of our emphasis on personalized instructional settings, faculty-student collaborative research partnerships, and small classes. Faculty and staff are located on our main campus in Ellensburg and at the Des Moines, Lynnwood, Pierce, Wenatchee, and Yakima University Centers. These highly dedicated professionals constitute the bedrock of the college and its programs. It is their expertise as educators and researchers, as well as their provision of service to the common good that has increasingly brought the college onto the regional and national stage.

I encourage prospective students and their parents to take a few moments to explore the college and department websites. You will find we offer a wide choice of quality undergraduate and graduate majors, minors, and course topics which blend scientific theory and practice. I trust it will be evident that our mission statement (see below) is reflected in the work of the faculty, staff, and students as they apply knowledge gained through scientific inquiry to solving human, social and environmental problems. Please contact us if you have any questions. We are here to serve you and hope to have the opportunity to share our passion for education, research, and service with you.

With Warm Regards,

Tim Englund
College of the Sciences Dean
Central Washington University

Congratulations to our students on the Winter 2018 Dean's List

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.