CWU News

CWU Students, Staff, and Faculty Lauded for Positive Contributions


Central Washington University recently honored a handful of students, staff, and faculty for their positive impact on the lives of others during the 22nd annual Evening of Recognition, sponsored by the Center for Leadership and Community Engagement (CLCE).

CLCE hosted the event in the Student Union and Recreation Center (SURC) Ballroom.

This year’s award winners included:

• Student Employee of the Year – Emma Meredith

• Club of the Year Award – Mock Trial Club

• Organization of the Year – Black Student Union

• ASCWU-Student Government Award – Jahkari Singh

• Student Serving with Integrity Award – Angeline Ashbaugh

• Most Inspirational Student Award – Sarah Pagel

• Most Inspirational Student Award – Jasmin Washington

• Most Inspirational Faculty Award – Amy Claridge

• Most Inspirational Faculty Award – Griff Tester

• Most Inspirational Staff Award – Christopher Huss

• Robert Lowery Excellence in Student Broadcasting Award – Payton Berens

• Dorothy Purser Award – Alexa Shindruk

• Associate Dean of Student Development and Achievement Award – Tim Miller

• Associate Dean of Student Living Award – Jadvir Gill

• Associate Dean of Health & Wellness Award – Aubrey Edwards

• Student Success Dean’s Award – Jocelyn Matheny

• Library Services Dean’s Award – Michael Reid

• Library Services Dean’s Award – Nathan Moore

• College of the Sciences Dean’s Award – Hailey Cottle

• College of Business Dean’s Award – Julie Penwell

• College of Education and Professional Studies Dean’s Award – Shelby Barret

• College of Arts and Humanities Dean’s Award – Lexi Phillips

• Graduate Studies and Research Dean’s Award – Elizabeth Seelye

• Inclusivity & Diversity Vice Presidential Award – Ithzel Villegas

• University Advancement Vice Presidential Award – Kimberly Hamann

• Enrollment Management Vice Presidential Award – Chance Norbert Flanigan

• Operations Vice Presidential Award – Ryan Gunther

• Public Affairs Vice Presidential Award – Tristine Vandeman

• Business & Finance Vice Presidential Award – Kasandra Hill

• Provost/Academic & Student Life Vice Presidential Award – Samuel Gutierrez

• Presidential Student Award – Edith Rojas

• Presidential Staff Award – Brent Morton

• Presidential Faculty Award – Amy Claridge

• Presidential Administrator Award - Jason Berthon-Koch, Eric Twaites, Marc McPherson, Andrew Bayne, Jeff St. John, Peter Ross, Todd Ames, Brian Melton, Aaron Hadaller, Mackenzie Williams, Murray Wells, Tegan Peek; and Ryan Whetstine.

For more information contact CLCE, 509-963-1850, or email,