Skip to body

 

CWU Sustainability

2019-2018 Sustainability Cafes

Next Sustainabiltiy Cafe: 

2019-2020 Sustainability Café Projects:

•Student Food Access Coalition contact: Danielle.Palmer@cwu.edu

•Waste Reduction in Residential Halls contact: Joe.Bach@cwu.edu

•Nativescaping (planting native plants) contact: Savannah.Fields@cwu.edu

•Earth Day contact: Erica.Mackenzie@cwu.edu

•Sustainable Investments/Green Loan Fund contact: Toni.Sipic@cwu.edu

•Bike to Campus Day contact: Bradley.Gasawski@cwu.edu

•Sustainable Transportation contact:

•Wildcat Neighborhood Farm contact: Katherine.Doughty@cwu.edu

•Riparian Revegetation of Wilson Creek on CWU’s Campus contact: Clay.Arango@cwu.edu

•Sustainability Across the Curriculum contact: cgazis@geology.cwu.edu

 

 

 


2018-2019 Sustainability Cafe Projects

Earth Day sponosored by CWU Operations & Earth Week sponsored by the Central Environmental Club

   

Education: Infusing Sustainability into Campus Tours and Recruitment

Creation of Sustainability rack card to promote sustainability measures and the sustainability certificate
Create a sustainability tour route including LEED buildings, recycling opportunities in residence halls, bike racks around campus, etc.
Create a quarterly sustainability newsletter

Grounds/Dining: Permaculture Project at Wildcat Neighborhood Farm 

The Food Forest project at the Wildcat Neighborhood Farm is focused on the design and implementation of a perennial, edible landscape that mimics relationships found in nature. We are in phase one of the project, which will eventually culminate in a productive, educational living laboratory.

Grounds: Xeriscape on Campus

Environmental Studies program student, Savannah Fields, is working on implementing xeriscape on campus. She has partnered with CWU Facilities Department and is creating a list of native plants to be used on future landscaping projects on campus. 

Sustainable Investments 

Goals:
Review and change of the university’s investment practices
Create a CWU student investment fund
Set up investments so that donors can donate to a specific project
Get STARR score up so it can be a good for publicity and getting donors
List investment opportunities on the Sustainability website

Transportation: Bike 2 Campus Day-May 1st, 2019

   

Waste Management: Waste reduction in Residence Halls


Spring 2019 Sustainability Cafe - April 3rd, 2019

  

  

Winter 2019 Sustainability Cafe - Jan 23rd, 2019

  

Fall 2018 Sustainability Cafe - November 14th, 2018

 

 

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu