CWU Sustainability

About the Awards

Each Spring, CWU gathers to honor and celebrate the students, faculty and staff who have advanced sustainability at CWU. 

The Sustainability Champions Awards recognize leadership across one or more of the following award criteria:

  • Implemented sustainability in operations, academics, engagement, or administration 
  • Developed an innovative sustainability project, event or initiative 
  • Built partnerships with university or community organizations for sustainability 
  • Advanced sustainability through coursework, research, teaching, publications, or technology 

2021 Sustainability Champions Awards and End-of-year-Celebration

Weren't able to join us in person? Watch the recording of the event. 


2021 Award Recipients

Outstanding Student Award

Jerry Fussell

Rachael Medalia

Alicia McAfee

Emma Nelson

Guy O'Connor

Outstanding Group Award


Primate Awareness Network (PAN)

Student analysis subgroup of the Council on Investor Responsibility: Kameron Eck, Jargal Ganzorig, Connor Wing and Derek Zinn

Outstanding Faculty Award

Dr. Toni Sipic, Department of Economics

CWU-APOYO Academic Team: Dr. Hope Amason, Dr. Dan Beck, Dr. Susan Kaspari, and Dr. Michelle DenBeste

2020 Award Recipients

Outstanding Student Award

Savannah Fields, senior

Erica MacKenzie, senior

Matthew Johnston, senior

Kelsey Bechtholdt, senior

Gia Landis, senior

Outstanding Faculty Award

Dr. Susan Kaspari, Department of Geological Sciences

Outstanding Group Award

Staff of PULSE Magazine

Center for Leadership and Community Engagement

Outstanding Staff Award

Kirsten Garland, Wildcat Printing

Kate Doughty, Wildcat Neighborhood Farm

Blair McNeillie, Facilities Management

Joanne Hillemann, Capital Planning and Projects

Cheyanne Manning, Facilities Management