Skip to body

Primate

College of the Sciences

Primate Behavior Faculty and Staff

 

Photo of Matt Altman

Dr. Matthew Altman
Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies

Email: AltmanM@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Kant, Applied Ethics, Nineteenth-Century Philosophy, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Art

Photo of Hope Amason

Dr. J. Hope Amason
Associate Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies
Director, Museum of Culture and Environment

Email: Hope.Amason@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South

Photo of Clay Arango

Dr. Clay Arango
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences/Environmental Studies

Email: ArangoC@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Stream ecosystem ecology, nitrogen cycling, human-ecosystem interactions

Photo of Kathleen Barlow

Dr. Kathleen Barlow
Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: Kathleen.Barlow@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Learning and culture, childhood, psychological anthropology, museum anthropology, symbolism, gender, art and aesthetics, material culture, regional ethnography, Melanesia, Oceania, United States

Photo of April Binder

Dr. April Binder
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Email: BinderA@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Reproductive biology focused on hormonal control of ovarian function and development

Photo of Kara Gabriel

Dr. Kara Gabriel
Professor, Psychology

Email: GabrielK@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Psychology, evolutionary psychology, and impacts on people in interactions with primates in both wild and captive settings

Photo of Ralf Greenwald

Dr. Ralf Greenwald
Associate Professor, Psychology

Email: greenwar@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cognitive brain dynamics, event-related potentials, teaching pedagogy, general cognitive psychology, working memory, music cognition, psychology of video gaming

Photo of Mary Lee Jensvold

Dr. Mary Lee Jensvold
Senior Lecturer, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests & Expertise: Chimpanzee sign language studies, ape behavior, communication, culture, chimpanzee care & enrichment, non-verbal behavior

Photo of Jessica Mayhew

Dr. Jessica Mayhew
Associate Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies
Director, Primate Behavior and Ecology Program

Email: Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primate social behavior, play behavior, primate socio-cognition, ethnoprimatology, large-bodied apes, Macaca spp.

Photo of JB Mulcahy

J.B. Mulcahy, M.S.
Lecturer, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: jb@chimpsanctuarynw.org

Interests & Expertise: Captive primate welfare, environmental enrichment, chimpanzee behavior

Website: Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest

Photo of Mary Radeke

Dr. Mary Radeke
Associate Professor, Psychology

Email: Mary.Radeke@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Use of facial cues in emotion and personality assessment, conversation development in young children, personality traits, technology in the classroom, primate communication, eye tracking and Facial Action Unit Coding laboratory

Photo of Rodrigo Renteria Valencia

Dr. Rodrigo Rentería-Valencia
Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental anthropology, linguistic anthropology, semiotics, visual anthropology, ritual and performance theory, human geography, maritime anthropology, indigenous studies. Ethnographic specialization: the Greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)

Photo of Lori Sheeran

Dr. Lori Sheeran
Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, macaques and their interactions with people, primate conservation, primate social behavior, Asian primates (particularly species in China and Bhutan)

Photo of Lixing Sun

Dr. Lixing Sun
Professor, Biological Sciences 

Email: lixing@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Ecology and evolution of animal behavior (especially communication systems), primatology

 



Staff and Administrators

Dr. Jessica A. Mayhew, Program Director, Primate Behavior and Ecology, Dean Hall 341,
(509) 963-3220, Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Ms. Penelope Anderson, Secretary Senior, Anthropology, Dean Hall 357,
(509) 963-3201, Penelope.Anderson@cwu.edu

Dr. Holly Pinkart, Chair, Biological Sciences, Science Building 338A,
(509) 963-2710, Holly.Pinkart@cwu.edu

Dr. Lene Pedersen, Chair, Anthropology & Museum Studies, Dean Hall 356,
(509) 963-3211, Lene.Pedersen@cwu.edu

Dr. Stephanie Stein, Chair, Psychology, Psychology Building 421,
(509) 963-2381, Stephanie.Stein@cwu.edu

Dr. Tim Englund, Dean, College of the Sciences, Dean Hall 130,
(509) 963-3678, Timothy.Englund@cwu.edu

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu