Skip to body

Primate

College of the Sciences

Primate Behavior Faculty and Staff

 

Dr. Matthew Altman, Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies

Email: AltmanM@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Kant, Applied Ethics, Nineteenth-Century Philosophy, Ethics, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Art

 

Meet Dr. Altman

Dr. J. Hope Amason, Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Interim Director of Museum of Culture and Environment

Email: Jessica.Amason@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South.

Dr. Clay Arango, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences/Environmental Studies

Email: arangoc@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Stream ecosystem ecology, nitrogen cycling, human-ecosystem interactions

Dr. Kathleen Barlow, Professor, Anthropology & Museum Studies

Email: Kathleen.Barlow@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Learning and culture, childhood, psychological anthropology, museum anthropology, symbolism, gender, art and aesthetics, material culture, regional ethnography, Melanesia, Oceania, United States

 

Dr. Daniel D. Beck, Professor, Biological Sciences

Email: beckd@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Ecology, behavior, and physiology of reptiles in the Pacific NW, southwestern USA, and western Mexico

Dr. Sofi Blue, Lecturer, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: sofia.bernstein@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Signal systems in non-human animals, particularly vocal communication in non-human primates, bioacoustics and cognitive ethology, focus on the Macaca genus

 

Meet Dr. Blue

Dr. April Binder, Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences

Email: bindera@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Reproductive biology focused on hormonal control of ovarian function and development

Dr. Kara Gabriel, Professor, Psychology

Email: gabrielk@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: psychology, evolutionary psychology, and impacts on people in interactions with primates in both wild and captive settings

 

Meet Dr. Gabriel 

Dr. Ralf Greenwald, Associate Professor, Psychology

Email: greenwar@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cognitive brain dynamics, event-related potentials, teaching pedagogy, general cognitive psychology, working memory, music cognition, psychology of video gaming.

Dr. Mary Lee Jensvold, Senior Lecturer, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests & Expertise: Chimpanzee sign language studies, ape behavior, communication, culture, chimpanzee care & enrichment, non-verbal behavior

Dr. Jessica Mayhew, Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Director of Primate Behavior and Ecology Program

Email: jessica.mayhew@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology; primate social behavior; play behavior; primate socio-cognition; ethnoprimatology; large-bodied apes; Macaca spp.

 

Meet Dr. Mayhew

J.B. Mulcahy, M.S., Lecturer, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: jb@chimpsanctuarynw.org

Interests & Expertise: Captive primate welfare, environmental enrichment, chimpanzee behavior (see Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest)

Dr. Mary Radeke, Assistant Professor, Psychology

Email: Mary.Radeke@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Use of facial cues in emotion and personality assessment, conversation development in young children, personality traits, technology in the classroom, primate communication, eye tracking and Facial Action Unit Coding laboratory

Dr. Rodrigo Rentería-Valencia, Assistant Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Email: Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology, Semiotics, Visual Anthropology, Ritual and Performance Theory, Human Geography, Maritime Anthropology, Indigenous Studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the Greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)

 

Meet Dr. Rentería-Valencia

Dr. Lori Sheeran, Professor, Anthropology and Museum Studies

Interim Chair Anthropology & Museum Studies, 2018-2019

Email: Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, Tibetan macaques, tourism, and aging, gibbon behavior, ecology, and conservation, primate conservation, primate social behavior

Dr. Lixing Sun, Professor, Biological Sciences 

Email: lixing@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Ecology and evolution of animal behavior (especially communication systems), primatology

 

Meet Dr. Sun

 



Staff and Administrators

Dr. Jessica A. Mayhew, Program Director, Primate Behavior and Ecology, Dean Hall 341,
(509) 963-3220, Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Ms. Penelope Anderson, Secretary Senior, Anthropology, Dean Hall 357,
(509) 963-3201, Penelope.Anderson@cwu.edu

Dr. James Johnson, Chair, Biological Sciences, Science Building 338A,
(509) 963-3011, Jim.Johnson@cwu.edu

Dr. Lori K. Sheeran, Interim Chair, Anthropology & Museum Studies, Dean Hall 356,
(509) 963-3211, Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Dr. Stephanie Stein, Chair, Psychology, Psychology Building 421,
(509) 963-2381, Stephanie.Stein@cwu.edu

Dr. Tim Englund, Dean, College of the Sciences, Dean Hall 130,
(509) 963-3678, Timothy.Englund@cwu.edu

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu