Skip to body

Philosophy and Religious Studies

College of Arts and Humanities
Give to Department

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy & Religious Studies
L & L Building Room 337
(509) 963-1818

Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society

Theta Alpha Kappa Crest

General Information

Sigma Chapter), and is currently one of only four recognized institutions in the Pacific Northwest (along with the University of Portland, Gonzaga University, and the University of Puget Sound). As a new chapter, we are just beginning to explore how best to organize our activities, as well as coordinating them with our sister Honor Society, Phi Sigma Tau (Philosophy), and the Philosophy & Religious Studies Club. Our overall purpose is to serve as a means to provide local and national recognition to students with high scholarship and an academic interest in the field of religious studies, to promote student interest in research and advanced study in the field, to provide opportunities for the publication of student research papers of merit through the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa, to encourage a professional spirit and friendship among those who have demonstrated an aptitude for excellence within the field, and to popularize interest in religious studies among the general collegiate and local community.

In 1976, Professor Albert Clark, F.S.C., established Theta Alpha Kappa at Manhattan College in Riverdale (the Bronx), New York for the purpose of recognizing the academic achievements of religion and theology students.  Since then, Theta Alpha Kappa has grown to more than two hundred chapters nationally in four-year educational institutions ranging from small religiously affiliated colleges to large public research institutions.  It is the only national honor society dedicated to recognizing academic excellence in baccalaureate and post-baccalaureate students and in scholars in the fields of Religious Studies and Theology.

Induction requires nomination by the local chapter and, to be eligible, students must have completed four courses in Religious Studies or approved Philosophy courses at CWU, while maintaining a 3.5 GPA in those courses, as well as a 3.0 overall GPA.  

In addition to encouraging the activities of local chapters, Theta Alpha Kappa maintains a vigorous national program of scholarship awards and fellowship competitions; its primary publication, the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa, offers an annual prize and the publication of outstanding student papers. Theta Alpha Kappa is an affiliated society of the  American Academy of Religion and a member of the  Association of College Honor Societies.

Current Members


  • President: Darlene Reinbold
  • Vice-President: Donovan Carnahan
  • Secretary: Vacant
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jeffrey Dippmann


  • Phillip Downes (2008)
  • Karlynn Greene (2007)
  • Scott Klepach, Jr. (2007)
  • Danielle Martinez (2007)
  • Kristen Nicol (2008)
  • Andrew Parker (2008)
  • Jarrett Sauby (2007)
  • Tyler Soldat (2007)


  • Dr. Jeffrey Dippmann
  • Dr. Heidi Szpek (Emeritus)
  • Prof. Karen Turcotte
  • Dr. Lily Vuong

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.