CWU News

From the President: Vision and Mission Forums

Dear Colleagues,

A final reminder regarding our Vision and Mission Open Forums. We ask that individuals sign up for only one session in order to elevate a diversity of voices across the university and out into the community. Each session will be the same, gathering feedback from university constituents.

Please sign up for one session through the links included below; note that one link is provided for the three sessions in the SURC Ballroom, though you will select only one of these three sessions to attend (once you get into the link). We will also have a session for Center faculty and staff, and one virtual session that will be interactive (cameras on!).

 Sessions on the Ellensburg campus in the SURC Ballroom can be signed up for here.

  • Thursday, March 3 (6:00-7:30 pm) – SURC Ballroom
  • Tuesday, Mar 8 (1:00-2:30 pm) – SURC Ballroom
  • Friday, March 11 (9:00-10:30 am) – SURC Ballroom

 The interactive virtual event can be signed up for here.

  • Friday, March 11 (2:00-3:30 pm) – Virtual event, with break out rooms

 The event for Center faculty and staff on the Des Moines campus can be signed up for here.

  • Thursday, March 3 (1:00-2:30 pm) – CWU-Des Moines, Bldg 29, Room 207
    • Audience includes: University Center faculty, staff and students only

At these forums, we will have a few draft vision and mission statements for review. Faculty, staff, and students will gather at tables of 8 (or in virtual rooms of 8), have conversations about what they like and what they do not like, and why, and then provide feedback directly on the draft statements. Your input during these sessions will provide the Steering Committee feedback to produce a final draft statement for Executive Leadership Team Review.

While we have fallen behind our timeline, we hope to have a final vision and mission statement to the Board of Trustees for their approval at the May meeting.

If you have any questions, please let us know.



A. James Wohlpart

On behalf of the Steering Committee
Elvin Delgado, Former Faculty Senate Chair
Jonathon Henderson, Exempt Employee
Missy Davis, Classified Employee
Madeline Koval, ASCWU
Jessica Murillo-Rosales, Alumni representing Graduate Students
Jeff Stinson, Provost’s council
Jennifer Dechaine, Academic Department Chair Council
John Vasquez, Student Success
Lauren Hibbs, University Centers
Laura Dahlby Nicolai, Athletics
Sigrid Davison, Equity
Wendy Iwaszuk, Foundation Board/Alumni/Community member