Skip to body

School of Graduate Studies and Research

CWU Graduate Programs

Central Washington University Graduate Programs - Alphabetical List

Programs

Biology
Chemistry
Computational Science
Cultural and Environmental Resource Management
Curriculum and Instruction
Engineering Technology and Management
English Literary Studies and Teaching Specialization
English, Professional and Creative Writing Specialization
Experimental Psychology
Family and Child Life
Family and Consumer Sciences - Career and Technical Education
Fine Arts
Geological Sciences
Health and Physical Education
Higher Education
History
Information Technology and Administrative Management
Integrative Human Physiology
Law and Justice
Master of Arts for Teachers
Mental Health Counseling  (On hold; not accepting applications at this time)
Music
Nutrition
Primate Behavior
Professional Accountancy
Public Health
Safety and Health Management
School Administration
School Psychology
Sport and Athletic Administration
Theatre Production
Theatre Studies


Click here for a list of programs offered ONLINE

Programs (listed by College)

COLLEGE OF ARTS & HUMANITIES

Art (M.F.A.)
Admissions: Fall

Specializations: Ceramics,Drawing, Graphic Design, Jewelry & Metal Smithing, Painting, Photography, Sculpture

Contact info: Associate Professor Marcus DeSieno, marcus.desieno@cwu.edu (509) 963-2665

English (M.A.)
Admissions: Fall

(Online or Ellensburg campus program)

Specializations: Literary Studies and Teaching

Contact info: Dr. Christopher Schedler, Christopher.Schedler@cwu.edu (509) 963-3432

English (M.A.)
Admissions: Fall
(Online or Ellensburg campus program)

Specialization: Professional and Creative Writing

Contact info: Dr. Josh Welsh; josh.welsh@cwu.edu; (509) 963-1549

History (M.A.)
Admissions: Fall

Specializations: Department list of 30+ fields of study

Contact info: Dr. Roxanne Easley; easleyr@cwu.edu  (509) 963-1877

Music (M.M.)
Admissions: Fall


Music Education: Admissions: Summer

Specializations: Composition, Conducting, Performance, Pedagogy, Music Education

Contact Info: Dr. Gayla Blaisdell gayla.blaisdell@cwu.edu (509) 963-1316

Contact info: (For the ABC Program Only) Dr. Bret P. Smith bret.smith@cwu.edu (509) 963-1548 Mailstop: 7458

Theatre Arts (M.A.)
Admissions: Summer

Specialization: Theatre Production

Contact info: Emily Rollie emily.rollie@cwu.edu (509) 963-1750 Mailstop: 7460

Theatre Arts (M.A.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Theatre Studies

Contact info: Emily Rollie emily.rollie@cwu.edu (509) 963-1750  Mailstop: 7460

 

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Accounting (M.P.A.)
Admissions: Rolling
(Online Program)

Specialization: Master of Professional Accountancy

Contact info: Fabio Ambrosio fabio.ambrosio@cwu.edu; 509-963-3833  or Lisa Woods woodsl@cwu.edu (509) 963-3340

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

Curriculum, Supervision and Educational Leadership (MEd)

Applicants must provide copy of valid WA State Teaching Certificate

Admissions: Rolling
 

Specialization: Curriculum and Instruction (Online Program)

Specialization: Curriculum and Instruction with STEM Leadership component - (Ellensburg Campus)

Contact info: Dr. Eric Hougan; Eric.Hougan@cwu.edu (509) 963-3830

Curriculum, Supervision and Educational Leadership (Master of Arts for Teachers)
Applicants seeking Washington State Residency Teacher Certification and a Masters degree. 

Admissions: Winter or Summer cohorts

Specialization: Secondary and K-12
Specialization: Special Education

Contact info: Dr. Ian Loverro
Ian.Loverro@cwu.edu (509) 963-1252

For More information download this document.

Winter Cohort applications are due August 15; Summer cohort applications are due January 15

Curriculum, Supervision and Educational Leadership  (MEd) Admissions: Rolling
(Online program)

Specialization: School Administration

Contact info: Dr. Donald Wattam, Donald.Wattam@cwu.edu  (509) 963-3075

Applicants who are seeking Certification only who have already earned and ARE NOT SEEKING a Master's Degree please click here for  Admission Procedures

Curriculum, Supervision and Educational Leadership (MEd) Admissions: Rolling
(Online program)
Specialization: Higher Education
 

Contact info: Dr. Donald Wattam, Donald.Wattam@cwu.edu  (509) 963-3075

Engineering Technologies, Safety, and Construction
Admissions: Next application period: Fall 2023 start

(Online Programs)

Specialization: Safety and Health Management

Contact Info: Dr. Jennifer Serne jennifer.serne@cwu.edu
(509) 963-1067

Specialization: ETM - Construction Management

Specialization: ETM - Engineering Technology

Contact Info: Dr. John Choi; jeunghwan.choi@cwu.edu
(509) 963-1596

Child Life and Family Science (M.S.)
Admissions: Summer and Fall

Specialization: Child Life

Specialization: Family Science

Contact info: Dr. Amy Claridge; Amy.Claridge@cwu (509) 963-2758

Family and Consumer Sciences (M.S.)
Admissions: Summer and Fall

Specialization: Career and Technical Education 

Contact info: Dr. Kimberlee Bartel; Kim.Bartel@cwu.edu (509) 963-1970

Health Sciences (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Integrative Human Physiology

Contact info: Dr. Karen Roemer;  Karen.Roemer@cwu.edu (509) 963-2746

Health Sciences (M.S.)
Admissions: Summer - (Application deadline is January 1)

Specialization: Nutrition

Contact info: Dr. Kelly Pritchett, kelly.pritchett@cwu.edu  (509) 963-2786

Health Sciences (M.P.H) Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Public Health


Contact Info: Dr. Melody Madlem, melody.madlem@cwu.edu (509) 963-1971

Information Technology and Administrative Management  (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall
(Online program/Administrative Management on campus option)
Specializations: Information Technology, Administrative Management, Cybersecurity  or Structures of Data Analytics for IT Managers                                            

Contact info: Dr. Hideki Takei; msitam@cwu.edu; (509) 963-2064

Sport and Movement Studies (M.S.)
Admissions: Summer
(Online program)

Specializations: Health and Physical Education

Contact info: Dr. Mark Perez; Mark.Perez@cwu.edu (509) 963-1919

Sport and Movement Studies (M.S.)
Admissions: Summer (Online program)

Specialization:  Sport and Athletic Administration 
with Athletic Administration Specialization 

OR

Sport Administration Specialization
Contact info: Dr. Rory Weishaar; Rory.Weishaar@cwu.edu 509-963-2265

 


COLLEGE OF THE SCIENCES

Biology (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Biology

Contact info: Dr. Gabrielle (Gabe) Stryker, strykerg@cwu.edu (509) 963-2721

Chemistry (M.S.)
Admissions: No summer starts: Fall, Winter, Spring

Specialization: Chemistry

Contact info: Dr. Carin Thomas,  carin.thomas@cwu.edu (509) 963-2815

Cultural and Environmental Resource Management  (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall
Specialization: Anthropology

Contact info: Dr. Patrick McCutcheon; Patrick.McCutcheon@cwu.edu (509) 963-2075
This program is part of WICHE Western Regional Graduate Program

Cultural and Environmental Resource Management  (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall
Specialization: Geography

Contact info: Dr. Megan Walsh Megan.Walsh@cwu.edu (509) 963-3699
This program is part of WICHE Western Regional Graduate Program

Computer Science (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Computational Science

Contact info: Dr. Razvan Andonie; Razvan.Andonie@cwu.edu (509) 963-1430

Geological Sciences (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specializations: Geological Sciences

Contact info: Dr. Lisa Ely; grad@geology.cwu.edu 
(509) 963-2177

Law & Justice (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Law and Justice

Contact info: Dr. Roger Schaefer;  rogers@cwu.edu
(509) 963-3529

Primate Behavior (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Primate Behavior

Contact info: Dr. April Binder, bindera@cwu.edu (509) 963-2803
This program has Specific Program Requirements
This program is part of WICHE Western Regional Graduate Program

Psychology (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Experimental Psychology

Contact info: Dr. Ralf Greenwald, Ralf.Greenwald@cwu.edu (509)963-3630

Psychology (M.S.)
Admissions: Fall

Specialization: Mental Health Counseling

This program is currently under revision and not accepting applications. 

Contact info: Dr. Meaghan Nolte

 Meaghan.Nolte@cwu.edu  (509) 963-2254

Psychology (Ed.S.)
Admissions: Fall

 

Specialization: School Psychology

Contact info: Dr. Heath Marrs; Heath.Marrs@cwu.edu (509) 963-2391

 

      


 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu