Skip to body

School of Graduate Studies and Research

About the Graduate Council

The Mission of the Graduate Council: 

The mission of the Graduate Council at Central Washington University is to ensure that programs provide a high quality graduate school experience for students, to foster exceptional faculty scholarship and teaching, and to promote contributions to society through effective post-baccalaureate programs.

Information about the Graduate Council:

The Graduate Council is the faculty council that is responsible for proposing policy in an advisory capacity to the School of Graduate Studies and Research in terms of the academic standards of graduate programs, the curriculum offered by the graduate programs, procedures governing who may be part of the graduate faculty, minimum admission standards for students to the graduate school, and other issues that relate to faculty governance of the graduate programs.  The council may serve in advisory capacity at the request of graduate students, graduate faculty, university administration, or others requiring advice on issues that involve the graduate school and/or graduate programs.  The Graduate Council seeks to support the School of Graduate Studies and Research at Central Washington University in both mission and vision.

The Graduate Council is comprised of the graduate coordinators of graduate programs that have been properly vetted and approved by the Graduate Council, the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, and the Faculty Senate.  The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, the Associate Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, sit in an ex officio capacity on the council.  Other non-voting members may sit on the council if the council deems it appropriate (e.g. graduate students and the Provost).  The chair of the council and the chair of the standing committees (Academic Standards Committee, Curriculum Committee, and the Procedures Committee) are elected to two year terms by members of the council.  Chair of the Graduate Council serves as the chair of the council’s executive committee with the chairs of the other standing committees making up the rest of the executive council.  The Chair of the Academic Standards Committee serves as the vice chair of the council.

COUNCIL MEETINGS
Graduate Council meetings for 2019-2020 Academic Year will Take Place from 3:00 - 5:00 PM

 

DATE LOCATION
October 7, 2019               Samuelson 108
November  4, 2019 Samuelson 108
December 2, 2019 Samuelson 108
January  13, 2020 TBD
February 3, 2020 TBD
March 2, 2020 TBD
April 6, 2020 TBD
May 4, 2020 TBD
June 1, 2020 TBD

 

Executive: This committee represents the leadership of Graduate Council and serves as the representative advisory body to the graduate dean. This committee meets regularly with the Dean to receive updates about internal and external activities that impact graduate education at CWU. The committee also works with the Dean to strategize/set priorities for graduate studies at CWU.

Position Faculty Member Department Email Phone
509-963-
 Academic Year 2019-2020
Chair Dr. Donald Wattam CEPS - CSEL donald.wattam@cwu.edu 3075  
Chair, Procedures Committee Dr. Lisa Ely

Geological Sciences

lisa.ely@cwu.edu 2177  
Chair, Curriculum Committee Dr. Rachel Kirk Art + Design rachel.kirk@cwu.edu 2665  
Chair, Academic Standards Committee Dr. Natalie Lupton ITAM natalie.lupton@cwu.edu 2064  
Secretary Dawn Anderson Graduate Studies dawn.andersond@cwu.edu 3108  

 

Non-Voting Ex Officio Executive Members:

Position Administrator Email

Phone 509-963-   

Dean of Graduate Studies & Research Dr. Kevin Archer kevin.archer@cwu.edu 3101
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research Open Position    

 

Procedures: This committee reviews applications for membership on the graduate faculty. This committee also sets the standards for membership on graduate faculty (e.g. terminal degree status, research activity, etc.). It considers the applications of outside (i.e. outside of CWU) thesis committee members for temporary 'courtesy' graduate faculty membership. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.
 

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Ralf Greenwald Psychology ralf.greenwald@cwu.edu 3630
Dr. Jason Irwin Biology jason.irwin@cwu.edu 2884
Dr. Jennifer Lipton Geography-CERM jennifer.lipton@cwu.edu 1164
Dr. Jessica Mayhew Antropology jessica.mayhew@cwu.edu 3220
Dr. Karen Roemer Health Sciences karen.roemer@cwu.edu 2746
Dr. Denise Shaw CSEL denise.shaw@cwu.edu 2259
Dr. Kenneth Smith Acccounting kenneth.smith@cwu.edu 1954
Dr. Carin Thomas Chemistry carin.thomas@cwu.edu 2815

 

Curriculum: This committee reviews changes to existing courses/programs and reviews new courses and programs. It also reviews programs every 5 years to ensure that those programs meet discipline-specific graduate standards as well as standards set by the graduate faculty. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Amy Claridge Family & Consumer Sciences amy.claridge@cwu.edu 2758
Dr. Patrick McCutcheon Anthropology-CERM patrick.mccutcheon@cwu.edu 2075

 

Academic Standards: This committee reviews existing and/or develops academic policies and procedures for graduate studies. Examples of policies include: minimum admissions standards, requirements for international students, conditional admits (stated conditions, number of admits/year in program/graduate studies overall), probation, dismissal, and capstone requirements. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Razvan Andonie Computer Science razvan.andonie@cwu.edu 1430
Dr. Christina Barrigan Theatre Arts christina.barrigan@cwu.edu 1273
Dr. Tishra Beeson Health Sciences tishra.beeson@cwu.edu 2494
Dr. Roxanne Easley History roxanne.easley@cwu.edu 1877
Dr. Mark Perez PESHM mark.perez@cw.edu 1919
Dr. Katharine Whitcomb English katharine.whitcomb@cwu.edu 1530

Additional Links:

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu