Skip to body

Center for Latino and Latin American Studies

College of Arts & Humanities

Give to CLLAS

Contact Us

Center for Latino and Latin American Studies
Hebeler Hall Room 202
(509) 963-1853
cllas@cwu.edu

Follow Us

Facebook twitter link

Program Faculty & Supporting Staff

Africana and Black Studies

Bobby Cummings

Phone: (509) 963-1075
Email: Bobby.Cummings@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: English, Curriculum, Rhetoric and Composition, African American Literature

When emailing Dr. Cummings, please use Arial Black font, size 18.


 

  
Masonya Bennett

Phone: (509) 963-1918
Email: Masonya.Bennett@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Race and Racialization in Latin America and the Caribbean; Immigration in the U.S. South; Race, space, and place; Material culture and Affect; U.S-Central American/Latin American Relations in the early 20th century

 

 

Anthropology

Rodrigo F. Rentería-Valencia

Phone: (509) 963-3549
Email: Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental anthropology, linguistic anthropology, semiotics, visual anthropology, ritual and performance theory, human geography, maritime anthropology, indigenous studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)



 
Nicole Jastremski

Phone: (509) 963-2215
Email: Nicole.Jastremeski@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, mortuary analysis, paleopathology, taphonomy, identity formation, Ecuador

Douglas London

Phone: (509) 963-3201
Email: Douglas.London@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Medical anthropology, nutritional anthropology, ethnography, health disparities, global food security, public health, dietary-related disease, indigenous people of Latin America

 

Art

Joan Cawley-Crane

Phone: (509) 963-2665
Email: Joan.CawleyCrane@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:


Biology


Daniel Beck
, Program Director

Phone: (509) 963-2886
Email: beckd@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Terrestrial Ecology of the Pacific Northwest, Herpetology, Tropical Dry Forest Ecology, Mexico.

 


Kristina Ernest

Phone: (509) 963-2805
Email: ernestk@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Population and community ecology. I am particularly interested in community structure, plant-herbivore interactions, and tropical biology.

 

 

Fabiola Serra Fuertes

Phone: (509) 963-3011
Email: fuertesf@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:


Communication

César Garcia

Phone: (509) 963-1097
Email: Cesar.Garcia@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Global public relations, image restoration strategies, sport public relations professional.

 

Cesar Garcia

 

Curriculum, Supervision, & Educational Leadership

Susana Flores

Phone: (509) 963-2601
Email: Susana.Flores@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Latinx students in K-16 educaiton; Politics of Bilingual Education; Anti-racist education; Undergraduate Research

 

Keith Reyes

Phone: (509) 963-1547
Email: Keith.Reyes@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: multicultural education, systems of stratification, and Mexican American/racial ethnic minority educational inequity (pk-20). Interests include reading the Bible, supporting students, and spending time with my wife and son.


Economics

Koushik Ghosh
Phone: (509) 963-1014
Email: Koushik.Ghosh@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Public Finance and Policy, Global Issues, International Trade and Policy, Money, Banking and Financial Markets, as well as Managerial Economics.

Toni Sipic

Phone: (509) 963-2605
Email: Toni.Sipic@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:


English

Chris Schedler

Phone: (509) 963-1357
Email: Christopher.Schedler@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:American Literature, Multicultural Literatures (particularly American Indian and Latino/a), Latin American Literatures, Modernism, and Border Theory

 


Pedro Xavier Cavazos

Phone: (509) 963-1573
Email: Pedro.Cavazos@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise:  Cavazos teaches in the Africana and Black Studies, Latino and Latin American Studies, and in the Professional and Creative Writing Programs at Central Washington University.

 
Phil Garrison, Emerits Faculty

Email: Philip.Garrison@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:  He is the founder and President of the APOYO Food Bank, located on Central's campus near Brooklane Village.


Geography


Craig Revels

Phone: (509) 963-1447
Email: Craig.Revels@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: cultural-historical Geography, landscape, Latin America

 


Elvin Delgado

Phone: (509) 963-2184
Email: Elvin.Delgado@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: energy and capitalism, political economy and nature, critical resource geography and political ecology

 


Sterling Quinn

Phone: (509) 963-1186
Email: Sterling.Quinn@cwu.edu
Websitewww.sterlingquinn.net

Interests & Expertise: Web mapping and geographic information systems, critical cartography, crowdsourced maps, open source software, Latin America

Jennifer Lipton

Phone: (509) 963-1164
Email: Jennifer.Lipton@cwu.edu
Interests and Expertise: environmental geography, remote sensing, mountain environments, Latin America


History


Jason Dormady

Phone: (509) 963-1244
Email: Jason.Dormady@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: popular interpretations of revolution, as well as issues surrounding religion, sacred space, and community formation.  He is currently working on a project that looks at urban planning and hygiene in post-revolutionary Guadalajara, Mexico.  His archival research in Mexico has been primarily carried out in Guadalajara, Edo. Mex, DF, and Morelos.

 


 

Law and Justice

Paul Knepper

Phone: (509) 963-3185
Email: Paul.Knepper@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:

Veronica Cano

Phone: (509) 963-2332
Email: Veronica.Cano@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: include youth justice, culture, gender, and comparative research with a focus on intersectionality. Her dissertation focused on exploring the impact of ethnic identity on risk taking behaviors among Latina youth in the United States and United Kingdom

Rodrigo Murataya

Phone: (509) 963-3667
Email: Rodrigo.Murataya@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: specializes in criminal law, law enforcement and comparative criminal justice with a particular focus on Mexico


Political Science


Gilberto Garcia

Phone: (509) 963-2416
Email: Gilbert.Garcia@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Latinos in the Pacific Northwest; Latino/a and Chicano/a Studies th an emphasis on Pacific Northwest, U.S. Mexico border studies; Latin American Politics

 

Gilberto Garcia

Stefanie Wickstrom, PhD
Phone: 509-963-2408
Email: stefanie.wickstrom@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: political ecology, environmental politics, political culture, indigenous peoples and capitalist development, Mexico, Chile, Panama

 

 

Sociology

Nelson Pichardo Almanzar

Phone: (509) 963-1348
Email: Nelson.Pichardo@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Minority Groups, Ethnic Awareness, Social Movements, Political Sociology, the Sociology of Sport, Sociology of Education, and Sociology of the Future.

 


World Languages and Cultures

Eric Mayer

Phone: (509) 963-3334
Email: Eric.Mayer@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Spanish Renaissance and Baroque literatures, with an emphasis on Cervantes.

 



Stella Moreno Monroy

Phone: (509) 963-3347
Email: Stella.Moreno@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Latin American and Spanish Poetry; Spanish and Latin American Narrative of the XX Century; Hispanic Cinema; Latin American Cinema; Latino Cultures of the United States; The Literary Translation.

 

Hilda Peña-Alfaro

Phone: (509) 963-1218
Email: Hilda.Pena-Alfaro@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise: Heritage Language Learners Assessment, Self-Identification and Proficiency; Cross-Cultural Communication; Second Language Acquisition; Strategic Management; Culture, Language and Literacy

LANGUAGES: Native Spanish Speaker, near-native proficiency in French, English and Portuguese

Michael Johnson

Phone: (509) 963-3559
Email: mijohnson@cwu.edu
Interests & Expertise:

 

Supporting Staff

Mirian Bochetti
Director/PI, CAMP                                       (College Assistance Migrant Program)

Phone: (509) 963-1708
Email: Miriam.Bocchetti@cwu.edu

Andre Dickerson
Director, CLCE
(Center for Leadership and Community Engagement)

Phone: (509) 963-1850
Email: Andre.Dickerson@cwu.edu

Veronica Gomez-Vilchis
Assistant Director, Diversity & Equity Center
Phone: (509) 963-2122
Email: Veronica.Gomez-Vilchis@cwu.edu

Ediz Kaykayoglu
Executive Director, International Studies & Programs
Phone: (509) 963-3616
Email: Ediz.Kaykayoglu@cwu.edu
Mayra Nambo
Academic Advisor, Professional Advising
Phone: (509) 963-3423
Email: Mayra.Nambo@cwu.edu
Adrian Naranjo
Director, Student Financial Services
Phone: (509) 963-3546
Email: sfsdirector@cwu.edu
David Peña-Alfaro

Director, Financial Planning & Analysis
Phone: (509) 963-2340
Email: David.Pena-Alfaro@cwu.edu

Manuel Rodriguez
Executive Director, Game On! and CWU Mariachi Advisor
Phone: (509) 963-2216
Email: Manuel.Rodriguez@cwu.edu
Vickie Winegar
Program Assisant, LLAS Program
Phone: (509) 963-1853
Email: Vickie.Winegar@cwu.edu

[Back to Top]

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu