Skip to body

Office of International Studies and Programs

Give to OISP

Departments

Contact Us

Email: intlprog@cwu.edu
Phone: +1-509-963-3612
More Contact Info

Central Washington University
Office of International Studies and Programs
Hebeler Hall 102
400 E. University Way
Ellensburg, WA 98926-7408

WorldCat Connections: Winter Five-Week Intensive English Courses

February 22-March 25, 2021

Language instruction and skills development with UESL program instructors.
Cost: $220 per course, plus $3.50 registration processing fee.
Registration Deadline: February 5, 2021

Improve English language knowledge and skills with fun and interesting classes taught by UESL Program instructors. All courses will meet live online via Zoom 4 days per week (Mondays-Thursdays) and will include approximately 20 hours of instruction. Each class has a maximum enrollment of 16.

Zoom links and passcodes will be sent by e-mail one week before the start of the class.

Students will receive evaluations and a certificate on completion of their course(s).

Four courses are offered for two different levels; you may sign up for one or two of these. Students may self-select their level. If you are not sure about your level, you may arrange a level check. This will consist of a Zoom interview and a writing sample to help us determine which classes/levels would be best for you. Write to UESL@cwu.edu to request a level check.

Courses Offered

  • Oral Communication A (recommended level: high-beginner – intermediate): develop speaking and listening skills with level-appropriate lectures, presentations, and small group discussion activities. (9:00 U.S. Pacific Time | 17:00 UTC | 18:00 UTC+1 | 19:00 UTC+2 | 20:00 UTC+3)
  • Oral Communication B (recommended level: high-intermediate - advanced): develop speaking and listening skills with lectures, presentations, and small group discussion activities. (9:00 U.S. Pacific Time | 17:00 UTC | 18:00 UTC+1 | 19:00 UTC+2 | 20:00 UTC+3)
  • English Through Songs (recommended level: high-beginner - intermediate): learn English vocabulary and grammar through song lyrics and readings about popular music and musicians. (10:00 U.S. Pacific Time | 18:00 UTC | 19:00 UTC+1 | 20:00 UTC+2 | 21:00 UTC+3)
  • American Culture and Context (recommended level: high-intermediate - advanced): study interesting aspects of American culture while developing English reading, writing, speaking and listening skills. (10:00 U.S. Pacific Time | 18:00 UTC | 19:00 UTC+1 | 20:00 UTC+2 | 21:00 UTC+3)

To pre-register, complete the webform below. Please indicate which class(es) you are interested in taking. We will send you a link to the Continuing Education online course registration page when registration opens.

You will make your final selection later when you register with Continuing Education.

WorldCat ESL students with CWU mascot Wellington WildcatWorldCat ESL students with CWU mascot Wellington Wildcat

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu