Support DHC Students

Apply to DHC

William O. Douglas
Honors College

Hebeler Hall 219
(509) 963-1900


Tuition Waiver

All Douglas Honors College students who are in good academic standing (GPA of 3.00 or higher) are eligible to receive a partial tuition waiver of up to $1,000 every year based on financial need. That amount will be divided evenly between the fall, winter, and spring quarters.

The Lillian Bloomer Scholarships

Donor Lillian M. Bloomer

Ms. Lillian M. Bloomer came to Washington State Normal School in 1924 as a student to specialize in education and psychology. After completing her education, she joined the staff of the training program as a fourth-grade teacher in the Edison School. In 1934 she joined the education faculty at the college. She retired in 1960 and passed away in 1986. Her legacy of humanities education lives on through the excellence of the students she continues to support.

The Memorial Application

The Lillian Bloomer Memorial Scholarship is an annual award for Honors College students who have demonstrated high academic achievement. The scholarship is awarded to students likely to complete the Upper-Division tier based on their Honors College portfolio, major, and GPA. Applications are reviewed by a committee of honors faculty and staff; the top-ranked students are selected to receive the scholarship. See the Recipients of the Memorial Scholarship.

The Residential Application

The Lillian Bloomer Residential Scholarship is awarded to up to five Honors College students who show academic promise and commitment to creating opportunities for peers living in the DHC Living Learning Community. The residential award of up to $2,000 is to be given in a combination of scholarship and waiver. It is a requirement of this scholarship that students be in good academic standing with the Honors College, commit to living in the DHC LLC in Barto Hall during the academic year, and have completed a minimum of 45 credits toward their degree.

Students must also serve as peer mentors to DHC students. Peer mentors will work with the DHC faculty and staff to build a vibrant academic and residential community of scholars. Training and development will be provided. See the Recipients of the Residential Scholarship.

Lillian Bloomer

Lillian M. Bloomer.

The Golden Owl Scholarship

Donors Gretchen and John Harder

The funds for this award were made available by the Harder family. Their daughter, Erika was a valuable member of the Douglas Honors College who graduated from Central in 2009. The support she found in our program made a significant impact on her education; this scholarship seeks to encourage the sustainability and development of that community.

The Application

This scholarship provides financial assistance to full-time honors students who are rising juniors or seniors. Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above and should demonstrate leadership and campus or community engagement. Preference is given to students with a focus in the humanities. See the Recipients of the Golden Owl Scholarship.

Harder Family.

John, Gretchen, and Erika Harder.

Other Resources

We encourage students to seek out aid through other means, including filing for FAFSA, applying for university financial aid, and exploring Scholarship Central through your MyCWU account.

CWU Scholarship Office

CWU Financial Aid Office

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)

Media Box Image

Sapere Aude

This page contains links to websites outside of The views and opinions expressed on unofficial pages of Central Washington University faculty, staff, or students are strictly those of the page authors. The content of such pages has not been reviewed or approved by Central Washington University.