Skip to body

Career Services

Theatre

What is Theatre?

The Theatre major can help prepare students for many career opportunities including work in the specific areas of theater production or performance as well as the related areas of advertising, television, film, recreation, education, and management. Theatre study includes a comprehensive study in theater, practical experience in professional production, and a solid background in the liberal arts. Talent, commitment, energy, and discipline are key personal qualities required for successful theater careers. 

Many occupations today require a college educated individual who can write and speak well, solve problems, learn new information quickly and work well with others on a team. This means that college graduates use their education in a wide variety of fields, and your future career may relate more to your personal career interests, work values and transferable skills than any specific academic major. However, the following list contains a representative sample of job titles of former graduates with a Theatre major. Use this as an idea list, and remember that it represents some, but certainly not all, of the careers you might consider. Students obtaining employment immediately upon graduation are usually those with the best college records and a willingness to relocate to find a job. Some of these jobs also require education beyond a bachelors' degree. 

CWU Theatre Arts Department

Related Career Titles
Acting CoachActorActress
Admissions DirectorAdvertising/Marketing SpecialistAgent
Amusement Park EntertainerAnimal-Talent CoordinatorAnnouncer
Art DirectorBooking ManagerBroadcast Journalist
Business ManagerBuyerCasting Director
Communication Technology SpecialistCommunity Affairs OfficerCopy Writer
Costume DesignerExhibit/Display DesignerSound Designer
Script CoachScript ManagerSpecial Events Coordinator
Stage ManagerStand-InVideo Store Manager
Writer/EditorCostumerCritic
Customer Service ManagerDevelopment Officer/Fund RaiserDirector
Drama CoachEquipment OperatorFacilities Manager
Foreign CorrespondentHealth EducatorHuman Resource Specialist
ImpersonatorInstructor, Theater ArtsLabor Relations Specialist
Lighting DesignerLighting OperatorLobbyist
MagicianMake-up ArtistFaux Painter
RiggerStudent Affairs SpecialistStunt Coordinator
Stunt-personTalent ManagerTalent Scout
DraftsmanMedia PlannerMedia Salesperson
MediatorMimeModel
Movie Theater ManagerNarratorNegotiator/Mediator
ParalegalPlaywrightProducer
Program AssistantProp ManagerPublic Affairs Officer
Public Relations SpecialistPuppeteerRadio/TV Announcer
RecruiterSales RepresentativeScene Painter
TeacherTheater ManagerTicket Sales Coordinator
Tour GuideTourism DirectorTraining & Development Specialist
Set Designer  
Related Major Skills
Imagination & creativityFlexibility
Attention to detailAppreciation of aesthetics
Strong communication skillsBasic reading, writing and editing skills
Interpersonal skillsInterpretive skills
Good work ethicPresentation, public speaking skills
Adaptability 
Job & Internship Search Links
 

Actors, Producers, and Directors from the Occupational Outlook Handbook: http://stats.bls.gov/oco/ocos093.htm 

American Alliance for Theater and Education: http://www.aate.com/ 

American Assoc of Community Theatre: http://www.aact.org 

American Dance Guild: http://www.americandanceguild.org 

American Society of Theatre Consultants: http://www.theatreconsultants.org 

American Theater Critics Association: http://www.americantheatrecritics.org/ 

American Women in Radio and TV, Inc.: http://www.awrt.org 

Arts and Entertainment MetaLink*: http://dcregistry.com/arts.html 

BackStage.Com: http://www.backstage.com 

Conference of Drama Schools-U.K.: http://www.drama.ac.uk 

Educational Theatre Association: http://www.edta.org/ 

IE3 Global Internships: http://ie3global.ous.edu/ 

Institute of Outdoor Drama: http://www.unc.edu/depts/outdoor/ 

Interlochen Center for the Arts: http://www.interlochen.org/ 

International Playback Theatre Network: http://www.playbacknet.org 

Jobs & Internships for Entertainment Careers*: http://www.entertainmentcareers.net/ 

Job Village-Performing Arts Jobs: http://www.jobvillage.com/channel/jobs/arts/performing_arts/theatre/b.4621.html 

League of American Theatres & Producers: http://www.livebroadway.com/ 

Literary Managers & Dramaturgs of the Americas: http://www.lmda.org/ 

Media Contacts - U.K.: http://www.media-contacts.co.uk/ 

National Alliance for Music Theater:, http://namt.org/ 

National Association for Drama Therapy: http://www.nadt.org/ 

National Association of Broadcasters: http://www.nab.org 

Oklahoma Shakespeare in the Park: http://www.oklahomashakespeare.com/ 

Oklahoma Shakespearean Festival: http://www.osfonline.com/index.php?pageID=2554

Playbill.com: http://www.playbill.com 

PropPeople.com Job Board: http://proppeople.com/jobboard.htm 

Screen Actors Guild: http://www.sag.org  

Showbiz Jobs.Com: http://www.showbizjobs.com/ 

Stage Managers Association: http://www.stagemanagers.org/ 

Summer Theater Contacts: http://www.summertheater.com/theaters/directory.html

The Art and Science of Theater: http://library.thinkquest.org/21722/main.html 

The Hollywood Reporter: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/hr/index.jsp 

The National Costumers Association: http://www.costumers.org 

The Shakespeare Theatre: http://www.shakespearetheatre.org/about/opportunities/index.aspx 

Theater Musicians Association: http://www.afm-tma.org/ 

Theater Services Guide: http://www.theaterservicesguide.com/ 

Theatre Communications Group – ArtSearch: http://www.tcg.org/about/jobs.cfm 

Theatre Jobs: http://www.theatrejobs.com 

Theatre Tulsa: http://www.theatretulsa.org/ 

United Stage of America: http://unitedstage.com