Skip to body

Anthropology and Museum Studies

Faculty

Anthropology Faculty

Photo of Dr. J. Hope Amason

J. Hope Amason, Assistant Professor
Interim Director Museum of Culture and Environment

Jessica.Amason@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South

Photo of Dr. Steve Hackenberger

Steve Hackenberger, Professor

Steven.Hackenberger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural ecology, archaeology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures

Photo of Dr. Raymond Hall

Raymond A. Hall, Associate Professor

Raymond.Hall@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Folklore with emphasis on material culture within the African Diaspora in Latin America.  See Africana and Black Studies Program.

Photo of Dr. Nicole Jastremski

Nicole Jastremski, Assistant Professor
Director Forensic Certificate

Nicole.Jastremski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, Forensic anthropology, Bioarchaeology, Mortuary analysis, Paleopathology, Taphonomy, Identity formation, Ecuador

Patrick M. Lubinski, Professor (on sabbatical, 2017-2018)

Pat.Lubinski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America

Photo of Dr. Jessica Mayhew

Jessica A. Mayhew, Assistant Professor

Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primate social behavior and socio-cognition, ethnoprimatology, the large-bodied apes, play behavior


Patrick T. McCutcheon, Professor
 
Interim Director AIS and CERM, 2017-2018

Patrick.McCutcheon@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, Evolutionary Theoretical Perspectives, Fieldwork and Laboratory Methods, Archaeometry, Lithic Analysis, Cultural Resource Management, North American Prehistory


Lene Pedersen, Professor and Chair

Lene.Pedersen@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural Anthropology, Visual Anthropology, Symbolic Anthropology, Ecological Anthropology, Ritual, Social Organization, Post-Colonialism, Southeast Asia (Indonesia), Circumpolar North, Sub-Saharan Africa, Natural Resource Management

Photo of Dr. Rodrigo Renteria-Valencia


Rodrigo F. Rentería-Valencia, Assistant Professor

Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology, Semiotics, Visual Anthropology, Ritual and Performance Theory, Human Geography, Maritime Anthropology, Indigenous Studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the Greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)

 

Photo of Dr. Lori Sheeran

Lori K. Sheeran, Professor
Director Primate Behavior & Ecology Program

Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology; Tibetan macaques, tourism, and aging; Gibbon behavior, ecology, and conservation; Primate conservation; Primate social behavior

Photo of Dr. Penglin Wang

Penglin Wang, Professor

Penglin.Wang@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China

Lecturers

Photo of Dr. Sofi Blue

Sofia Blue (Bernstein), Ph.D.

Sofia.Bernstein@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Signal systems in non-human animals, particularly vocal communication in non-human primates, bioacoustics and cognitive ethology, focus on the Macaca genus

Photo of Dr. Ryan Clasby

Ryan Clasby, Ph.D.

Ryan.Clasby@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, interregional interaction and exchange, origins of complex societies, human adaptation to tropical forest environments, shamanism, ritual and religion, Chavín culture, Amazonian and Andean South America, Ecuador, Peru

Photo of Kristen Drury

Kristen Drury, M.S.

Kristen.Drury@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Forensic Science, Firearm and Tool Mark Analysis, Latent Fingerprint Comparison and Analysis, Crime Scene Reconstruction, Shooting Reconstruction, Gunshot Residue Analysis, Serial Number Restoration, Microscopy, Research and Teaching

Photo of Dr. Mary Lee Jensvold

Mary Lee Jensvold, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests & Expertise: chimpanzee sign language studies; ape behavior, communication, & culture; chimpanzee care & enrichment; non-verbal behavior

Placeholder image

Meghana Joshi, Ph.D.

Meghana.Joshi@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Coming soon!

Headshot of JB Mulcahy

J.B. Mulcahy, M.S.

jb@chimpsanctuarynw.org

Interests & Expertise: Captive primate welfare, environmental enrichment, chimpanzee behavior (see Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest)

Photo of Dr. Isabelle Sarton-Miller

Isabella Sarton Miller, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

Isabelle.Miller@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Bio-cultural Anthropology, adaptation to extreme environments: High altitude (Altiplano of Bolivia), cold (Northern territories, Canada, Alaska), hot and humid (Saint Kitts)

Emeritus

Photo of Dr. Tracy Andrews

Tracy J. Andrews

Tracy.Andrews@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Sociocultural Anthropology, Native Americans, Ecological and Natural Resource Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Political Ecology, Gender, Minority and International Health Issues, Ethnicity, Identity, and Cultural Dynamics

Photo of Dr. John Alsoszatai-Petheo

John Alsoszatai-Petheo

John.Alsoszatai-Petheo@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological Anthropology and Archaeology, Paleoanthropology, Human Osteology, early lithic technology, and the initial peopling of the Americas. He has traveled widely abroad and in the United States, and has done field research in California, Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, and Germany

Photo of Dr. Kathleen Barlow

Kathleen Barlow

Kathleen.Barlow@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Learning and Culture, Childhood, Psychological Anthropology, Museum Anthropology, Symbolism, Gender, Art and Aesthetics, Material Culture, Regional Ethnography, Melanesia, Oceania, United States

Photo of Dr. Loran Cutsinger

Loran E. Cutsinger

Loran.Cutsinger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Economic/ecological anthropology, gender studies, cultural anthropology, Caribbean/Latin America, US, Russia, Middle East, Native Americans of the Northern Rockies

Photo of Dr. Anne Denman

Anne S. Denman

Anne.Denman@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Dr. Anne Denman is a cultural anthropologist with particular interest in American Culture, intercultural issues and gender roles. She has done field work in Brittany, France

Photo of Dr. William Smith

William C. Smith

William.Smith@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, World Prehistory, Museum Studies, Collections Management, and Computer Applications

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu