Give to CWU

CWU Alumni Association
Phone: (509) 963-2160

CWU 2021 DAA Recipients

CWU Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Awards Header - Decorative Image

ELLENSBURG, Wash.—The CWU Alumni Association is pleased to announce that nominations for the 2021 Distinguished Alumni Awards have been reviewed and 13 individuals who embrace Central Washington University’s spirit and mission have been chosen to be honored at the April 16 virtual award ceremony.

Distinguished alumni are selected for their personal accomplishments, professional achievements, community service involvement, and/or contributions made to CWU.   

This year’s distinguished alumni include: 

Alumni of the Year  
Joseph P. Stoltman (’62)—Distinguished Professor of Geography and Science Education, Western Michigan University

Philanthropists of the Year
Dave Heaverlo (’73) and Peggy Basler McNutt–Manager, Sand Lake Farms, LLC (Dave) 

Young Philanthropist of the Year 
Sabrina M. Dominguez (’18)—Marketing Coordinator, Thomas James Homes 

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients 

College of Arts and Humanities   
Myron N. Dobashi (’65)—Retired Brigadier General and assistant adjutant general, Air, Department of Defense, State of Hawaii, and former commander of the Hawaii Air National Guard

College of Business (Awarded Posthumously)
Ed F. Dooley (’64)—Retired Chief Financial Officer for Community Hospice, Inc., Community Hospice Foundation Inc., CHI Management, Inc, and Samaritan Village, Inc.

College of Education and Professional Studies   
Dr. Mia T. Williams (’94)—Chief of the Office of African American Male Achievement, Seattle Public Schools

College of  the Sciences  
Dr. Joseph P. Stoltman (’62)—Distinguished Professor of Geography and Science Education, Western Michigan University

 4 Under 40  Award Recipients 

College of Arts and Humanities  
Sergey Bogza (’11)—Music Director and Conductor, Millikin-Decatur Symphony Orchestra

College of Business  
Brittany A. Lewis (’11)—Finance Manager, Microsoft

College of Education and Professional Studies 
Matt E. Johnson (’10)—Manufacturing Instructor, Snohomish School District

College of the Sciences  
Kasey J. Eickmeyer (’14)—Quantitative Sociologist and Demographer, Center for Policing Equity

Alumni Trail Blazer Award
Jon M. Lane (’70)—Trustee at Big Bend Community College and retired educator

Alumni Innovator Award
Mackenzie G. Adams (’18)—Kindergarten Teacher, Lake Stevens School District

“It is with great pride and admiration that I congratulate the 2021 Distinguished Alumni recipients on behalf of the CWU Alumni Association,” said CWU Alumni Association Board President Karina Busch. “The recipients have demonstrated excellence within their professions and made lasting impacts within their communities. These individuals have demonstrated the true meaning of civic engagement by serving as leaders and mentors. The Wildcat community is proud and thankful for all the contributions made by these incredibly talented and generous individuals.”

The virtual award ceremony will be held on April 16, 2021. More information will be coming soon.

Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Media Contact: Kristina Paquette, Associate Director of On-Campus Engagement, 509-963-2762,