Student Tech Fee Council Minutes May 20, 2019 Bouillon Hall 2:30- 3:30

Present: Calisa Cruse, Brian Kimberling, Jami Beintema, Bea Padilla, Samuel Kamau, Szilard Vajda, Britton Hayes, Gerard Hogan, Jocelyn Matheny, Lwin Htet,

Absent: Andreas Bohman, Nik Harkins

Guests: Katherine Frank, Amy Claridge

Minutes: Bea Padilla

Call to order

The meeting was called to order at: 2:33 pm by Calisa Cruse. An attendance sheet was circulated.

SPSS

Provost Katherine Frank and Amy Claridge came to speak on behalf of the usage of SPSS, to the council's understanding it is mainly used by faculty, according to lab stats produced by CSS. Provost Katherine and Amy Clardige indicated that they use it to teach students how to use it for research purposes. They indicated that it is a very important program and would like adequate notice if the council no longer wishes to pay for it. An alternative named "R" was mentioned, but Amy indicated they do not know how to use that program. After discussing the program the tech fee decided to pay 2/3 of the cost for the 2019/2020 academic school year. Going forward the future council will assess all licenses going forward and decide if they will continue to fund them. MOTION: To fund 2/3 of the SPSS license for 2019/2020 academic year. MADE BY: Lwin Htet. SECOND: Brian Kimberling. All in favor, motion passes.

New STFC Charges

Bea met with Brenda Moffard about the budget and she noted that the kiosk has annual hardware and software fees. The hardware fee is \$3,506 and the software fee is \$4,548. This was brought up in case the council decided to purchase more kiosk for the campus. The key card access that was added to the 1891 bistro also has an annual fee, Nate Hill will provide that number for Bea and she will share it at the next meeting.

1891 Bistro update

Jim Matheny will attend the June 3rd meeting to discuss sales and the bistro in general. The MOU will be discussed and the council will decide if the Bistro will be 24/7 from now on.

STFC Survey

Bea sent out the survey, council will review results/ pick gift card winners on June 3rd.

Voting Lwin Htet Calisa Cruse Britton Hayes Szilard Vajda Gerard Hogan Jocelyn Matheny Nik Harkins Brian Kimberling Samuel Kamau *Non-Voting* Andreas Bohman Bea Padilla Jami Beintema