Student Tech Fee Council Minutes

February 13th, 2020 Samuelson 118E 3-4pm

Present: Bea Padilla, Lwin Htet, Christian Castilleja, Chris Schedler, Gerard Hogan **Guests:** Marla Firman, Joy Fuqua, Chad Schone, Wendy Holden, Gene Shoda, Nichol

Hibbard

Absent: Ginny Tomlinson, Brian Kimberling, Collin Krogh, Edgar Carreno, Michael

Berge, Mickael Candelaria

Minutes: Bea Padilla

Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 3:05pm by Lwin Htet. The new student member, Christian Castilleja was introduced to the council.

Esports Update

Gene Shoda and Nichol Hibbard presented updates on the Esports project. They mentioned that they will be putting out an Esports survey at the beginning of Spring quarter to gage what students would like to see on campus. They also mentioned that the old data center might be where it is located, but if there is a SURC expansion, that might also be an ideal place because Matt Boyer, in the Rec Center, would like to own and manage the Esports facility.

Funding Requests:

Joy Fuqua, Chad Schone, and Wendy Holden: Video Captioning-\$70,000 annually Joy asked the council if they would fund 1 year of video captioning for classes, professors, and students in the amount of \$70,000. The current video captioning (Panopto) program they have is only 70% accurate, and with this new captioning program it would take it to 90% accuracy. Currently faculty have to make video captioning for their lectures, this program would make it easier for them. The council asked if they had other avenues for funding, they mentioned grants, academic services, or special projects, but indicated that grants take a 2 year process. The council did not have enough members to vote on this matter, they will vote at the next meeting.

Wepa Survey Results

Survey results are in. The survey was sent to 10, 500 students and there were 535 responses. Most of the responses were negative, mostly indicating that students would like more printing money, and would like the funds to roll over to the next quarter if not used in the previous one. The council talked briefly about it and realized that they could possibly increase the amount, and have it roll over. The discussion is on hold until the next meeting when there are more members present.

Voting
Lwin Htet
Brian Kimberling
Collin Krogh
Edgar Carreno
Michael Berge
Mickael Candelaria
Christian Castilleja
Gerard Hogan
Chris Schedler

Non-Voting
Ginny Tomlinson
Bea Padilla