Math 411A

Syllabus

Appendix D: Review of Selected Mathematical Techniques (from textbook data CD)

Assignment

Assignment #
Date assigned
Due
Assignment
1
Thursday, 9/26/2013
10/3/2013

Read page 1 - 18, do problems on page 18, #1, 3, 5, 7 - 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 20

Solutions to problems 9, 11, 13, 17 and 20.

2
Monday, 9/30/2013
10/7/2013
Read section 1.3, page 20 - 25. Do problems on page 27, # 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 15, 17, 20.
3
Thursday, 10/3/2013
10/11/2013
Read section 1.4; do problems on page 36: 1 - 3, 4 - 6, 8, 9, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18, 20, 21. (Assignment 3 is due Friday, the same day as Test 1)
4

Monday
10/7/2013

10/11/2013
Read section 1.5; do problems on page 43: 1 - 5, 7 - 12, 15, 16
5
Tuesday
10/8/2013
10/11/2013 Read section 1.6. Do problems on page 48: 1, 2, 6 -8, 11, 12
Thursday, 10/10/2013

Sample test 1 answer

Test 1 use only calculator, no notes, no device that can access internet.

6
Section 2.1
Monday, 10/14/2013
10/21/2013
Read section 2.1. Do problems on page 59, # 1 - 3, 6 - 11, 13 - 16, 19

7
Section 2.2

Thursday, 10/17/2013
10/24/2013
Read section 2.2, do problems on page 66, #1 - 6, 8, 10, 13, 14
8
Section 2.3
Friday, 10/18/2013
10/25/2013
Read section 2.3, do problems on page 75: #1 - 4, 6, 7, 9, 13, 14(a)-(c), 15.
9
Section 2.4
Tuesday, 10/22/2013
10/29/2013
Section 2.4 problems: #1 - 12, 15, 16, 18 - 20, 23. (additional problems: #9, 14,22)

10
Section 2.5

Monday
10/28/2013
11/1/2013
Section 2.5 problems: page 97: #1 - 13, 15, 16, 18 - 22.
11
Section 2.6
Monday
11/4/2013
11/12/2013 Answers to test 2, section 2.6, page 106, #1 - 10, 18 - 21.
12
Sections3.1 and 3.2
Thursday, 11/7/2013 11/14/2013 Supplementary exercise A

13 Section 3.3 Continuous Random variables

Tuesday, 11/12/2013 11/19/2013 Section 3.3: page 139, #1, 3-10, 12-14, 16-18, 21,22, 25.
14 Section 3.4 Uniform and exponential
Thursday, 11/14/2013 11/22/2013 Section 3.4: page 146, #1 - 6, 8, 9, 11, 13 - 15, 18 - 20, 22, 23
15 Section 3.5 Gamma and Chi-square distribution Monday 11/18/2013 11/22/2013 Section 3.5 on poage 155: #1 - 5, 8 - 12, 14 - 17. Test 3 solutions
16 Section 3.6 Normal Distribution Monday, 11/25/2013 12/2/2013 Page 165, #1 - 9, 11, 16 - 18, 22, 23 Answers
17 Section Additional Topics Tuesday, 12/03/2013 None Page 175, #5 - 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 17, 18
18 Section Additional Topics Thursday, 12/05/2013 None

Page 175: 1(a), 2, 20, 23