Skip to body

Sport Clubs

Rodeo

About

Who Are We? The CWU Rodeo Club is made up of both rodeo competitors and non-competitors. The club is intended to bring individuals together to make new friends with a common interest in rodeo. The club is managed by the club's board of directors. The board is made up of both competitors and non-competitors. The rodeo club also hosts an annual rodeo at the Ellensburg Rodeo Arena. The Todd D. Anderson Memorial Rodeo is held every April and attracts competitors from ten different schools from all over Washington, Oregon, and Idaho. The event is free to attend.

What is Rodeo? It is a public exhibition of cowboy/cowgirl skills. Some of these skills include bronc riding, barrel racing, bull riding and team roping.

What Should a Spectator Expect? Spectators should expect to see an event with fierce competition between competitors. You will also see the joy of cowboys and cowgirls who perform well during their event and frustration of those who don't succeed.
 

Events
  • Bareback bronc
  • Saddle bronc
  • Bull riding
  • Steer wrestling
  • Team roping
  • Breakaway roping
  • Tie down roping
  • Goat tying
  • Barrel racing
 
Goals
To have a club that is structured, supportive, energetic, and fun for all members.
To generate an interest in rodeo among Central Washington University students and administration.
To have a competitive club consisting of unified, hard working, dedicated rodeo athletes.
To attract any and all rodeo athletes to Central Washington University.
To establish and maintain a reputable name for our club among intercollegiate rodeos, and with the community of Ellensburg.
To have a successful and fun annual intercollegiate rodeo in Ellensburg.
To uphold the reputation of the well known Ellensburg Rodeo.
2018 Todd Anderson Memorial Rodeo at the Kittitas Fairgrounds:

Friday, April 20
Slack @ Noon
Performance @ 6 PM

Saturday, April 21
Slack @ 11 AM
Performance @ 6 PM

Sunday, April 22
Performance @ 11 AM

Events will include:

Bareback
Tie Down Roping
Saddle Bronc
Breakaway Roping
Steer Wrestling
Goat Tying
Team Roping
Barrel Racing
Bull Riding
 
Contact Information

President
Anndie Watterson
anndie.watterson@cwu.edu
801-380-9299

Co-Vice President
Jordan Tye
jordan.tye@cwu.edu

Co-Vice President
Michael Anderson
mtafarms@gmail.com

Secretary
Lydia Johnson
lydia.johnson@cwu.edu

Treasurer
Brendan Coleman
brendan.coleman@cwu.edu

Fundraising
Madden Shanks
madden.shanks@cwu.edu

Sponsorships
Bailey Nachtigal
bailey.nachtigal@cwu.edu

 


 

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu