Skip to body

Performing Arts and Speaker Series

Seattle Symphony Orchestra

testTime: October 19, 2006, 7pm

Location: Music Building Concert Hall

TICKETS: Reserved Seats $45; General Admission $35; Students with I.D. $25

Seattle Symphony, now presenting its 103rd season, has been under the artistic leadership of Music Director Gerard Schwarz since 1985. In 1998, the Symphony began performing in the acoustically superb Benaroya Hall in downtown Seattle. Ranked within the top twenty orchestras in the U.S., Seattle Symphony is recognized for its adventurous programming and tradition of performing music by contemporary composers. The Symphony has made more than one hundred recordings and garnered eleven Grammy nominations, and from September through July is heard live by more than 315,000 people annually in a schedule that includes eighteen weeks of classical subscription Masterpiece concerts and a broad spectrum of other series. In 2001, the Symphony opened Soundbridge Seattle Symphony Music Discovery Center, an interactive learning center in which people of all ages are welcomed to explore the world of symphonic music. For more information on Seattle Symphony, Benaroya Hall and Soundbridge, visit

Carolyn Kuan will conduct this special Seattle Symphony performance at Central Washington University. Kuan joined the Symphony as Assistant Conductor in September 2006. She holds the distinction of being the first female to be awarded the Herbert von Karajan Conducting Fellowship by the Herbert von Karajan Centrum and American Austrian Foundation in 2003. This award resulted in her residency at the 2004 Salzburg Festival. An artist-in-residence in 2004 and 2005 at the New York City Ballet, Kuan made her conducting debut in the ballet's American Music Festival. Honoring this auspicious occasion, The New York Times noted that, as the guest conductor for Ivesiana, Kuan "sensitively merg[ed] the music with Balanchine's stupefying images...In all, a Balanchine ballet with a difference." For this one and only performance in Central Washington this year, Kuan will lead Handel's Concerto grosso in G major, Op. 6, No. 1; Mozart's Divertimento in D major, K. 131; Hovhaness' Alleluia and Fugue; Piston's Divertimento; and Copland's Appalachian Spring Suite.

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.