Skip to body

Science Education

Student, Faculty, Staff, and Alumni Honors

Student Teacher of the Year Holly DeGroot




Holly DeGroot

2011-2012 Student Teacher of the Year





Congratulations to Noyce Scholar Holly DeGroot for being recognized by the CWU Center for Teaching and Learning and by the CWU Teacher Professional Education Advisory Board as a 2011-2012 Student Teacher of the Year!



Noyce Scholars on the CWU Challenge Course


New Noyce Affiliates and Scholars

Meet our new 2012-2013 scholars!




Congratulations to our new Noyce Affiliates and Scholars! Check back soon to read their biographies!

Click here for more information about the Robert Noyce SMART Program.



Crystal Apple Award Winners

Each year the Teacher Professional Education Advisory Board presents a Crystal Apple award to one faculty member from each college who has had a significant impact on teacher preparation at CWU. Congratulations to these SCED faculty members who have won the award recently:


Bruce Palmquist2008-2009
Tim Sorey2009-2010



 Dr. Bruce Palmquist


Dr. Bruce Palmquist

2005 Washington State
Professor of the Year



Dr. Bruce Palmquist, Central Washington University physics and science education professor, was named the 2005 Washington state Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE). Dr. Palmquist received this award on November 17, 2005 for his dedication to teaching, commitment to students, innovative teaching methods, and goal of improving the understanding of basic scientific principles to many.