Skip to body

Science and Mathematics Education

College of the Sciences
Give to Science Education

Contact Us

400 E. University Way
Discovery Hall 301
Ellensburg, WA 98926
Phone: 509-963-2929

Student, Faculty, Staff, and Alumni Honors


Our alumni do great things every day, and we want to celebrate that. Check out what our featured alumni have been up to. 


Congratulations to Jeff Charbonneau, 2013 National Teacher of the Year!

Jeff Charbonneau, a 2000 CWU Science Education alumnus and an Eastern Washington science teacher today was named national Teacher of the Year.

Read the Washington Post article here.

Charbonneau, from Zillah High in the Yakima Valley, is the first winner from Washington state since 2007, and he will spend a year traveling as an ambassador for the teaching profession.

The Council of Chief State School Officers announced the award today. Charbonneau, the 63rd National Teacher of the Year, will be recognized along with all 2013 State Teachers of the Year by President Obama in a ceremony at the White House on Tuesday.

Charbonneau was one of four finalists for the teaching honor. The other three finalists were an English teacher from Maryland, a special education teacher from Florida and a music teacher from New Hampshire.

Read more about Charbonneau here.

Charbonneau is a 2000 CWU graduate in biology education, who also received his biology teaching certificate, in 2000; and his broad area science teaching certificate, in 2004, from CWU. In 2005, he earned his Master Teacher degree from Central.

In addition, Charbonneau teaches online professional teacher certification courses and facilities the online National Board Teacher Certification candidate program through the CWU Office of Continuing Education. He also is a teacher in CWU's Cornerstone program, which allow his high school physics students to earn college credit.

Photo courtesy of David Goehner, ESD 105. Reprinted from CWU News

Student Teacher of the Year Holly DeGroot



Holly DeGroot

2011-2012 Student Teacher of the Year





Congratulations to Noyce Scholar Holly DeGroot for being recognized by the CWU Center for Teaching and Learning and by the CWU Teacher Professional Education Advisory Board as a 2011-2012 Student Teacher of the Year!

List of Awards
NameStudent, Faculty or StaffYearAward or Honor
Bruce PalmquistFaculty2004CWU Distinguished Professor Award
Bruce PalmquistFaculty2005Washington Professor of the Year
Ian QuitadamoFaculty2008Crystal Apple Award
Ian QuitadamoFaculty2008John Stanford Educational Achievement Award
Martha KurtzFaculty/COTS Associate Dean2008CWU Distinguished Professor Award
Martha KurtzFaculty/COTS Associate Dean2009WSTA Science Teacher of the Year
Bruce PalmquistFaculty2009Crystal Apple Award
Martha KurtzFaculty/COTS Associate Dean2009Outstanding Teacher Preparation Professor Award
Tim SoreyFaculty2009Crystal Apple Award
Anne EggerFaculty2012Science Prize for Inquiry-Based Instruction
Jeff CharbonneauAlumni201363rd National Teacher of the Year
Ana Garcia, Matthew Changar, Payton KellyStudents2018Won the Program Exposition category at the 2018 UTeach conference
Ian QuitadamoFaculty2018CWU Distinguished Professor Award









Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.