Skip to body

Resources and Reports

CWUR 3-20-010 Whistleblower Complaints

A whistleblower is an employee who reports, in good faith, alleged improper governmental action to a "public official.'

It also applies to any employee who is perceived to have made an allegation of improper governmental action (CWUP 2-40-230).

Reports of improper governmental action may be submitted anonymously to the Washington State auditor:

Insurance Building

Capitol Campus
P.O. Box 40021
Olympia, Washington 98504-0021
(360) 902-0370

https://www.sao.wa.gov/report-a-concern/how-to-report-a-concern/whistleblower-program/

CWU administrators who are designated to receive reports of improper governmental action that invoke the Whistleblower Act are: 

Mail the Whistleblower Reporting Form to one of the following designated university officials:

Jesús Baldovinos, Internal Auditor

Mailstop: 7481, Jesus.Baldovinos@cwu.edu,

509-963-1191

400 E. University Way

Ellensburg, WA 98926-7501

 

James Gaudino, President

509-963-2111

Mailstop: 7501, gaudino@cwu.edu

 

Lynn Franken, Provost/Vice President for Academic and Student Life

Mailstop 7503, lynn.franken@cwu.edu, 509-963-1400

 

Joel Klucking, Vice President for Business and Financial Affairs

Mailstop: 7481, joel.klucking@cwu.edu, 509-963-2956

 

Linda Schactler, Chief of Staff

509-963-1384; Mobile: 509-607-4103

Email: linda.schactler@cwu.edu

 

Staci Sleigh-Layman, Executive Director, Human Resources, and CWU Ethics Advisor

Mailstop: 7425, staci.sleigh-layman@cwu.edu, 509-963-1256

 

Cheri Elliott, Lead Whistleblower Investigator

Email: elliottc@sao.wa.gov Phone: 360-725-5358

 

Alan Smith, Assistant Attorney General

alans@atg.wa.gov, 206-389-2099

These individuals are obligated to confidentially maintain the identity of the whistleblower and to inform the chief of staff immediately who will notify the State Auditor’s Office of whistleblower assertions within 15 days of receiving a complaint.

Confidentiality will be provided to the whistleblower and to any person who in good faith provides information in an investigation. Individuals involved in the investigation of a report made by a whistleblower may consent to disclose their identity. It is the responsibility of all university employees to fully cooperate during an investigation of a report of improper governmental action. Employees will not destroy evidence and will provide any requested and/or relevant information and documentation during the investigation.

Retaliation against a whistleblower or those who provide information during an investigation is prohibited by state law. Employees who feel they have been retaliated against may contact the Washington State Human Rights Commission at (toll free) 1-800-233-3247; TTY: 1-800-300-7525; or  http://www.sao.wa.gov/investigations/Pages/Whistleblower.aspx.

CWU employees will be notified annually of the Whistleblower Act, including provisions and protections specific to CWU.

[Responsibility: President’s Office (until 7/6/16) BFA; Authority: Cabinet/PAC; Reviewed/Endorsed by: Cabinet/PAC; Review/Effective Date:03/07/2014; 12/11/18; 1/18/19; Approved by: James L. Gaudino, President]

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu