Skip to body

Resource Management Graduate Program

Graduate Students

2012  
Scott Adolphson

Scott Adolphson (2012)
B.S., Geography, University of Wisconsin - River Falls
Thesis interests: Coastal environments and geomorphology
adolphsons@cwu.edu

 
Katherine Buchholz

Katherine Buchholz (2012)
B.A., Geography, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: CRM, recreation, forests, NEPA
Thesis advisor: Steven Hackenberger
buchholzk@cwu.edu

 
 

Alexis Dyson (2012)
B.A., Anthropology, Eastern Washington University
Thesis interests: CRM lithic technologies
Thesis advisor: Steven Hackenberger
dysona@cwu.edu

 
Justin EllisJustin Ellis (2012)
B.S., Economics and History, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: Value of trees to society
Thesis advisor: Toni Sipic
ellisju@cwu.edu
 
Krista Evans (2012)
B.A., Geography, Northern Michigan University
Thesis interests: Heritage resource management
Thesis advisor: Robert Kuhlken
evanskris@cwu.edu
 

Sonja Kassa (2012)
B.S., Anthropology, Western Washington University
Thesis interests: Chelan Butte obsidian and CRM
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon
kassas@cwu.edu

 
 Patrick Molohon (2012)
B.S., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: Community collaborations
Thesis advisor: Lene Pedersen
molohonp@cwu.edu
 
Noah Oliver (2012)
B.A., Geography, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: Geomorphology and CRM on the Lower Columbia River
Thesis advisors: Karl Lillquist and Patrick Lubinski
olivern@cwu.edu
 
Zoe Rushton (2012)
B.A., Geography, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: Alpine vegetation and snowpack patterns
Thesis advisor: Karl Lillquist
rushtonz@cwu.edu
 

David Sheldon (2012)
B.A., History and Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: Mt. Rainier archeology and CRM
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon
sheldond@cwu.edu

 
Lori Stacy (2012)
B.A., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis interests: Ecotourism impacts on indigenous populations
Thesis advisor: Lene Pedersen
staceyl@cwu.edu
 
Sean Stecherbinine (2012)
B.A., Anthropology, Western Washington University
Thesis interests: CRM in the Pacific Northwest
Thesis Advisor: Patrick McCutcheon
 
 Andrea Watson (2012)
B.A., Anthropology and German, University of Washington
Thesis interests: Cultural ecology and community collaboration
Thesis advisor: Tracy Andrews
watsonand@cwu.edu
 

Anna Yost (2012)
B.A., Environmental Studies, Eckerd College
Thesis interests: Elk habitat in the Snoqualmie River Valley
Thesis advisor: Robert Hickey
yosta@cwu.edu

 
2011  

Bryce Andrews (2011)
B.S., Environmental Geology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Rapid assessment protocol for Gladmar Research and Education Area
Thesis advisor: Michael Pease 
andrewbr@cwu.edu 

 
Ayla Aymond (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, Hamline University
Thesis topic: Ancient DNA analysis of carbon bone from the Raven Bluff site, NW Alaska
Thesis advisor: Joseph Lorenz 
aymonda@cwu.edu
 
Kim Bailor (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, University of Washington
Thesis topic: Case study of the impacts of hydropower and industry in Eastern Iceland
Thesis advisor: Lene Pedersen 
bailorki@cwu.edu
 
Eric Brouwer (2011)
B.S, Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Archaeofaunal analysis of the Washington Cascades
Thesis advisor: Pat Lubinski 
brouwere@cwu.edu
 
Markus Chisholm (2011)
B.A., Geography, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Case study of an Inuit village in economic and ecological transition
Thesis advisor: Jennifer Lipton 
chisholmm@cwu.edu
 
Tamara Cox (2011)
B.S., Anthropology, Boise State University
Thesis topic: Role of anthropogenic fire as a driver of plant succession and forest ecology in meadow environments
Thesis advisor: Megan Walsh 
coxan@cwu.edu
 
Joy Ferry (2011)
B.S., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Lithic analysis and site contextualization: The Forgotten Creek site, Mt. Rainier, Washington
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon
ferryj@cwu.edu
 
Jessica Giblin (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, Youngstown State University
Thesis topic: Constructed wetland systems of North Ireland 
Thesis advisor: Jennifer Lipton 
giblinj@cwu.edu
 
Thomas Hale (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, University of Kentucky-Lexington
Thesis topic: Biodistance and cemeteries in a resource management context 
 
Kevin Haydon (2011)
B.A., Law and Justice and B.A., Sociology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Analyzing linkages between fire regimes, vegetation, and climatic change in Sinlahekin Wildlife Area, Washington
Thesis advisor: Megan Walsh 
haydonk@cwu.edu
 
Brian Lund (2011)
B.S., Environmental Science, University of Washington
Thesis topic: Biomass and richness of benthic macroinvertebrates in Taneum Creek, Washington 
Thesis advisor: Michael Pease
lundbr@cwu.edu
 
Christopher Moose (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, Minnesota State University-Moorhead
Thesis topic: An archeological assessment of historical farmstead sites involved in the Dakota Conflict of 1862 in New Ulm, MN 
moosec@cwu.edu
 
Kari Nielsen (2011)
B.A., Geography, Western Washington University
Thesis topic: Trail susceptibility and associated geomorphic hazards in Glacier National Park, Montana
Thesis advisor: Karl Lillquist
nielsenk@cwu.edu
 
Bethany Oliver (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, University of Texas-Arlington
Thesis topic: Applying geomorphology and remote sensing to locate deeply buried root camp sites on the Columbia River
Thesis advisor: Steve Hackenberger
oliverbe@cwu.edu
 

Kelli Shoaf (2011)
B.A., Anthropology, University of Wyoming
Thesis topic: Analyzing the research potential of lithics scatters: A comparison of upland and lowland scatters in the Columbia Basin
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon 
shoafk@cwu.edu

 
2010  
Adam Berman (2010)
B.S., Instructional Design and Technology, Western Illinois University
Thesis topic: Gladmar Research and Education Area
Thesis advisor: Undetermined 
bermana@cwu.edu
 
 Matt Breidenthal (2010)
B.A., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: Steve Hackenberger 
breidenm@cwu.edu
 

Crit Callebs (2010)
B.A., Ethnobotany & Native American Studies, The Evergreen State College
Thesis topic: Traditional Native American knowledge
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon
callebsc@cwu.edu

 
Jamie Cannon (2010)
B.S., Physical Science, Washington State University 
Thesis topic: Prioritizing forest restoration treatments using spatial analysis 
Thesis advisor: Bob Hickey 
cannonj@cwu.edu
 
Jarod S. Drozdowski (2010)
B.A., Art History, Northern Arizona University 
Thesis topic: The sacred geography of early formative - preclassical mesoamerican architectural design and sacred geography 
Thesis advisor: Steven Hackenberger 
drozdowj@cwu.edu
 
 Lisa Euster (2010)
B.A., Anthropology, University of Washington
M.S., Library and Information Science, University of Washington 
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: Steven Hackenberger 
eusterl@cwu.edu
 

Travis Grant (2010)
B.A., Environmental Studies, Trinity Western University (British Columbia)
Thesis topic: Impacts of public access and shoreline protection on biodiversity and geomorphology along rocky, coastal beaches in Washington
Thesis advisor: Dr. Anthony Gabriel
granttra@cwu.edu

 
Isa Harrison (2010)
B.S., Economics and B.A., Foreign Language–Russian, Central Washington University 
Thesis topic: Industrial water pollution policy 
Thesis advisor: Dr. Chad Wassell 
harrisoni@cwu
 
Kelseyanne Johnson (2010)
B.A., Journalism, Western Washington University 
Thesis topic: Social impacts of the Elwha Dam removal in Olympic National Park, Washington 
Thesis advisor: Tracy Andrews 
JohnsoKe@cwu.edu
 

Patrick Lewis (2010)
B.S., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: Pat McCutcheon
lewispa@cwu.edu

 
Michael Lukens (2010)
B.A., History, Washington State University
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: Tracy Andrews
lukensm@cwu.edu
 
Alexa Maine (2010)
B.S., Environmental Studies, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Freshwater mussels in Wilson Creek, Kittitas County, Washington 
Thesis advisor: Clay Arango
mainea@cwu.edu
 
James McCurdy (2010)
B.A., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: bermana@cwu.edu
mccurdyj@cwu.edu
 
Nathaniel Morse (2010)
B.A., Anthropology, University of Hawaii-Hilo
Thesis topic: Paleoclimate analysis through oxygen-18 isotope analysis of M. falcata and G. angulata in Central and Eastern Washington
Thesis advisor: bermana@cwu.edu
morsen@cwu.edu
 
Roszika Steele (2010)
B.S., Primate Behavior & Ecology & B.A., Anthropology, Central Washington University 
Thesis topic: Community management and conservation in the Peruvian Amazon 
Thesis advisor: Dr. Jennifer Lipton 
steeler@cwu.edu
 
Marc Steinkraus (2010)
B.S., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: Patrick Lubinski
steinkraus@cwu.edu
 
Marc Thompson (2010)
B.A., Philosophy, Central Washington University
Thesis Topic: Interagency geospatial data sharing 
Thesis advisor: Bob Hickey
thompsc@cwu.edu
 
Jessie Walling (2010)
B.A., Geography, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: BLM horse management in SE Oregon
Thesis advisor: Jim Huckabay
wallingj@cwu.edu
 
2009  
 CJ Anderson (2009) 
BA, Anthropology, Central Washington University 
Thesis topic: Land use variation on mid-Columbia Plateau upland and lowland archaeology sites
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon 
andersonca@cwu.edu
 
Tiffany Bishop (2009) 
B.A., Geography, Central Washington University 
Thesis topic: The Influence of large wood addition on the hyporheic Zone: Taneum Creek, WA restoration evaluation
Thesis advisor: Carey Gazis
bishopti@cwu.edu
 
Cathy Cloran (2009)
B.S., Recreation, Parks and Leisure Service, Minnesota State University-Mankato
Thesis topic: Defining the level of state forest use: A recreation assessment at Naneum Ridge State Forest, WA
Thesis advisors: Craig Revels & Ken Cohen
cloranc@cwu.edu
 
Erin Dilworth (2009)
B.S., Natural Resource Mangement and B.S. Wildlife Conservation, University of Deleware
Thesis topic: Coupling biodiversity and management strategy evaluations to assess the effectiveness of Marine Protected Areas in Puget Sound 
Thesis Advisor: Anthony Gabriel
dilworte@cwu.edu
 


Holly Eagleston (2009)BA, Biogeography, Mount Holyoke College
Thesis topic: Non-motorized winter recreation impacts to snowmelt erosion and trail degradation, Blewett Pass, WA
Advisor: Dr. Charlie Rubin
eaglesth@cwu.edu

 
Katherine Fitch (2009)
BA, American Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz
Thesis topic: Lichen communities and whitebark pine health
Thesis advisor: Jennifer Lipton
fitchka@cwu.edu
 
Haleh Ghazanfarpour (2009)B.A., Urban Planning, University of Washington
Thesis topic: Urban wind utilization; A case study in Ellensburg Washington
Thesis advisor: Dr. James Huckabay
ghazanfh@cwu.edu
 
Alfred Keller (2009)
B.F.A., Wood Design, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Undetermined
Thesis advisor: Patrick Lubinski
kellera@cwu.edu
 
Angela Koch (2009)
B.A., Theater Arts, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Public programming for museums
Thesis advisor: Kathleen Barlow
kochan@cwu.edu
 
Colin Lamb (2009)
B.S., Anthropology, Central Washington University
Thesis topic: Undecided
Thesis advisor: Patrick McCutcheon
lambc@cwu.edu
 
Jeff Malone (2009)
B.S., Environmental and Resource Economics and Management, Washington State University 
Thesis topic: Wetland salmon habitat restoration in the Clatskanie, OR floodplain 
Thesis advisor: James Huckabay 
malonej@cwu.edu
 
Conor Maquire (2009)
B.A., Social Sciences, University of Alaska–Southeas
Thesis topic: Evaluating profiling practices of Alaskan fishing communities: Assessing the community-agency relationship. Thesis advisor: Jim Huckabay
maguirec@cwu.edu
 
Wendy McDermott (2009)
B.A., Biology, Western State College (Colorado)
Thesis topic: The life cycle of dams: An analysis of policy change on the Rogue River, Oregon
Thesis advisor: Craig Revels
mcdermow@cwu.edu
 
Raychel Parks (2009)
B.S., Environmental Studies, Southern Oregon University 
Thesis topic: A comparative analysis of natural and human-made rock habitats for American Pikas along Interstate 90 in the Central Cascade Range, Washington 
Thesis advisor: Kristina Ernest
parksr@cwu.edu
 
Angela Reese (2009)
B.A., Anthropology, Central Washington University
M.S., Environmental Studies, Evergreen State College
Thesis topic: A comparative study of soil moisture over a one-year period on cultivated and Conservation Reserve Program land in Eastern Douglas County, Washington
Thesis advisor: Karl Lillquist
reesea@cwu.edu
 
Jamie Sheahan(2009)
B.S., Applied Ecology & Environmental Science, Michigan Technological University School of Forest Resources and Environmental Science
Thesis topic: A study of vegetation community, soil, and stream channel morphology changes in relation to headcut incision of two riparian wet meadows, Ochoco Mountains, Oregon.
Thesis advisor: Dr. Anthony Gabriel
sheahanj@cwu.edu
 
Tommy Wachholder(2009) 
B.A., Geography, University of Wisconsin-Parkside 
Thesis topic: Applying wetland rating systems to assess functions of wetlands created by mass wasting events, Table Mountain, Washington 
Thesis advisor: Anthony Gabriel 
wachholt@cwu.edu
 
Kristen Winter (2009)B.A., Geography, University of Wisconsin–Parkside
Thesis topic: Adding a spatial perspective to community-based collaborative conflict management: A case study of elk management in the Upper Snoqualmie Valley, Washington
Thesis advisor: Jim Huckabay
winterk@cwu.edu