Skip to body


College of the Sciences
Give to Math

Results 2018

Kryptos Results from 2018


One hundred and forty three students formed 61 teams representing colleges, universities, and schools from Alberta, Arizona, California,  Florida, France, Idaho,  Iowa, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.

Our first place team finished in just under 20 hours, so this year's competition proved quite challenging for everyone.  The Kryptos CodeMasters must have turned things up a notch this year.  The CodeMasters appreciate all the hard work teams and individuals put into working on these challenging ciphers.

Those teams which submitted at least one correct solution are recognized below. The order of the listings indicates the chronological order of when the solutions were submitted.

Congratulations to all!


Master Codebreakers are those who solved all three challenges and are recognized as achieving theTURING level of achievement:

From Eastern Mennonite University:  [First Place Team!]

  •     Cameron Byer
  •     Daniel Harder
  •     Ben Stutzman

From Linfield College: [Second Place Team!]

  •     William Shannon
  •     Carmen Hoffbeck

From Western Carolina University:

  •     Peter Gardner
  •     Wesley Roger
  •     Adam Gregory

From Western Carolina University:

  •     Marshall Murphy
  •     Garion Schneider
  •     Colin Whiteley

Proficient  Codebreakers are those who solved two challenges and are recognized as achieving the BABBAGE level of achievement:

From The University of Washington: [First Place Individual!]

  •     Shine Sun

From The University of Washington at Bothell: [Second Place Individual!]

  •     John Bush

From Norwich University:

  •     Da Lei
  •     John Rotter
  •     Sean Courtney

From Linfield College:

  •     Ruben Cruz
  •     Jennifer Moranchel

From Pacific University:

  •     Mariah Jacobs
  •     Hannah Newby-Smith
  •     Sarah Amano

From Whitworth University:

  •     Breeann Wilson
  •     Luke Lattig

From Western New England University:

  •     Erin Granger
  •     Emma Armfield
  •     Alyssa Stefanelli

From Western New England University:

  •         Ali Johnstone

Amateur Codebreakers are those who solved one of the challenges and are recognized as achieving a PRETTY GOOD level of achievement:

From Norwich University:

  •     Alexis Julian
  •     Paul Biello

From Appalachian State University:

  •     Lindsey Wise
  •     Matt Hefner
  •     Will Dulaney

From The College of Idaho:

  •     Leonardo Trujillo
  •     Florence Wavreil
  •     Erik Nordquist

From Western Oregon University:

  •     Rahevin Slade
  •     Nathan Stark
  •     Dakota Winslow

From Pacific University:

  •     Adrian Martin
  •     Sophia Bonar
  •     Dannie Wright

From Pacific University:

  •     Brenna Calmer
  •     Ryan Estes
  •     Clio Skevington

From Linfield College:

  •     Shelby DeRocher

From Linfield College:

  •     Trevor Gourley
  •     Natalie Hight
  •     Chelsea Horita

From The King's University:

  •     Joemy Joseph
  •     Mark Wilkinson
  •     Benjamin Bachman

From Norwich University:

  •     Owen Martinez
  •     Wesley Notter


Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.