Skip to body


College of the Sciences
Give to Math

Kryptos 2021 Results

Kryptos 2021 Results

One hundred and twenty eight students formed 65 teams representing colleges, universities, and high schools from British Columbia, California, Connecticut, France, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, Ontario, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennslyvania, Virginia, Netherlands, and Washington.  Our first place finisher solved all three Challenges in just over four and a half hours.  Our first place individual finished just after midnight on Friday morning.  Thirty teams finished at least one of the Challenges and ten completed all three.  The Kryptos CodeMasters appreciate all the hard work teams and individuals put into working on these challenging ciphers.

Those teams which submitted at least one correct solution are recognized below. The order of the listings indicates the chronological order of when the solutions were submitted.

* [Succesfully unlocked the freezer and saved the day!]

Congratulations to all!

Master Codebreakers are those who solved all three challenges and are recognized as achieving theTURING level of achievement:

From Northern Kentucky University: [First Place Team!]

  • Will St. Onge
  • Shawn Huesman
  • Wie Sie

From The University of  Indianapolis: [First Place Individual!]

  • Katherine Osadczuk

From Linfield University: [Second Place Individual!]

  • Garrett Crouch

From ISEN LILLE: [Second Place Team]

  • Christophe Hugueny
  • Hugo Derave
  • Florent Descamps

From Erasmus University Rotterdam:

  • Alexandre Nelva-Pasqual

From Nipissing University *:

  • Cole Maddin
  • David Haighton 

From Kutztown University of Pennsylvania *:

  • Isaac Reiter

From Corban University *:

  • Jonathan Howe
  • Declan Ritter
  • Tyson Stover

From The Pennsylvania State University and Carnegie Mellon University:

  • Wayne Zhao
  • Thomas Wang
  • Evelyn Kuo

From Eastern Mennonite University *:

  • Caleb Hostetler
  • Cameron Byer
  • Noah Swartzentruber

Proficient  Codebreakers are those who solved two challenges and are recognized as achieving the BABBAGE level of achievement:

From Eastern Mennonite University *:

  • Hannah Leaman
  • Ike Esh
  • Silas Clymer

From Pacific University:

  • Michael Sentman

From Corban University:

  • Sara Thomas
  • Ally Tow
  • Lacey Gilmore

From Worcester Polytechnic Institute:

  • Frederick Miller
  • Avery Smith

From ISEN Lille:

  • Charles Mayeur
  • Maximilien Walbecq

From HEI:

  • Mathis Langrand
  • Olivier Bossavit

From Gannon University:

  • Victoria Bartlett

From University of Maryland Baltimore County:

  • Alex Zabriskie
  • Robert Roibu

From The University of Washington, Bothell:

  • Lisa Waranowitz
  • Aika Usui
  • River Hill

From Western Carolina University:

  • Storme Adkins
  • William Zielinski
  • Victoria Kimball

From Mount Saint Mary College:

  • Arianna Martuscello
  • Kelsey Farrell
  • Matthew Kozireski

From Mount Saint Mary College:

  • Devin Kelley
  • James Farrell
  • Dennis Rodriguez

Amateur Codebreakers are those who solved one of the challenges and are recognized as achieving a PRETTY GOOD level of achievement:

From Pacific University:

  • Matthias Gutzmann

From University of Southern Mississippi *:

  • Minh Nguyen
  • Barbara Jones

From Central Washington University:

  • Kimberly Wiles
  • Kieran Cook
  • Adara Andonie

From The University of Washington *:

  • Adam Fountain

From JUNIA ISEN Lille:

  • Corentin Delhon-Bugard
  • Nicolas Bouillet
  • Benjamin Delattre

From ISEN Lille:

  • Mathieu SELLIER

From Quest University Canada:

  • Neoprana Jawinara Soemardjan

From Wheaton College (MA):

  • Zachary Heineman
  • Nate Oehler



Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.