Skip to body

Math Honors

Meet our Community

Meet our Faculty             Meet our Students

The Math Honors Program is an exciting and dynamic community of students and faculty.  Get to know them here!  See something you are interested in?  We'd love to hear from you -- email us any time! 

Faculty 

By enrolling in an honors seminar, you have the opportunity to participate in an engaging and interactive learning environment with some of the CWU’s best math professors.  Find out here about faculty who have taught courses or supervised student research.

Brandy Wiegers (Program Director)

Previous honors seminar topics: 

  • Mathematical Patterns (Fall 2015)
  • Godel, Escher, Bach (Winter 2016)
  • 3-D Printing (Spring 2016)
  • Mathematical Central Fieldtrip Seminar (Spring 2016)
  • Probability Games (Fall 2016)
  • Math and Art (Winter 2017)

Areas of mathematical interest: Applied Mathematics, Math Circles
email: wiegersb@cwu.edu
Web:  http://www.cwu.edu/math/about-dr-brandy

 

Stuart Boersma
Previous honors seminar topics:  Mathematics of iterations (Winter 2014), (Spring 2014)

Areas of mathematical interest: Differential Geometry, General Relativity
email: boersmas@cwu.edu
Web: http://www.cwu.edu/~boersmas/


James Bisgard
Previous honors seminar topics:  Critical point theory for functions of two or more variables (Fall 2014), Putnam Exam (Fall 2016), Math of the Game of Set (Winter 2017).

Areas of mathematical interest: Calculus of Variations
email: bisgardj@cwu.edu
Web: http://www.cwu.edu/~bisgardj/

 

John Fassett
Previous honors seminar topics:  Fractals and Chaos (Fall 2015)

Areas of mathematical interest: Topology, Dynamical Systems
email: fassett@cwu.edu
Web: http://www.cwu.edu/~fassett/

 

Dominic Klyve
Previous honors seminar topics:  (Fall 2013), (Spring 2014), Graph Theory (Winter 2015), Complex Networks (Winter 2015), Mathematical modeling and estimation (Spring 2015), History of Statistics (Spring 2015).

Areas of mathematical interest: Computational Number Theory, History of Mathematics, Statistics
email: klyved@cwu.edu
Web: http://sites.google.com/site/profklyve/


Scott Lewis
Previous honors seminar topics:  Triangles (Fall 2014)

Areas of mathematical interest: Mathematics Education, History of Mathematics
email: lewiss@cwu.edu
Web: http://www.cwu.edu/~lewiss/

 

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu