Skip to body

School of Graduate Studies and Research

About Graduate Council

The Mission of Graduate Council: 

The mission of the Graduate Council at Central Washington University is to ensure that programs provide a high quality graduate school experience for students, to foster exceptional faculty scholarship and teaching, and to promote contributions to society through effective post-baccalaureate programs.

Information about Graduate Council:

The Graduate Council at Central Washington University is the faculty council that is responsible for setting policy in terms of the academic standards of graduate programs, the curriculum offered by the graduate programs, procedures governing who may be part of the graduate faculty, minimum admission standards for students to the graduate school, and other issues that relate to faculty governance of the graduate programs.  The council may serve in advisory capacity at the request of graduate students, graduate faculty, university administration, or others requiring advice on issues that involve the graduate school and/or graduate programs.  The Graduate Council seeks to support the School of Graduate Studies and Research at Central Washington University in both mission and vision.

The Graduate Council is comprised of the graduate coordinators of graduate programs that have been properly vetted and approved by the Graduate Council, the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, and the Faculty Senate.  The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, the Associate Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, sit in an ex officio capacity on the council.  Other non-voting members may sit on the council if the council deems it appropriate (e.g. graduate students and the Provost).  The chair of the council and the chair of the standing committees (Academic Standards Committee, Curriculum Committee, and the Procedures Committee) are elected to two year terms by members of the council.  Chair of the Graduate Council serves as the chair of the council’s executive committee with the chairs of the other standing committees making up the rest of the executive council.  The Chair of the Academic Standards Committee serves as the vice chair of the council.

Graduate Council meets in SURC 301 from 4:00-5:00 PM on the following dates:

Oct 6, 2014, Nov 3, 2014, Dec 1, 2014, Jan 5, 2015, Feb 2, 2015, Mar 2, 2015, April 6, 2015, May 4, 2015, June 1, 2015

Committee Members:

Executive: This committee represents the leadership of Graduate Council and serves as the representative advisory body to the graduate dean. This committee meets regularly with the Dean to receive updates about internal and external activities that impact graduate education at CWU. The committee also works with the Dean to strategize/set priorities for graduate studies at CWU.

PositionFaculty MemberDepartmentEmailPhoneTerm
ChairDr. Natalie LuptonITAMluptonn@cwu.edu2064Oct. 2016
Vice ChairDr. Kara GabrielPsychologygabrielk@cwu.edu2387Oct. 2016
SecretaryDawn AndersonGraduate Studiesandersondl@cwu.edu3108Oct. 2016

 

Non-Voting Ex Officio Executive Members:

PositionAdministratorEmailPhone
Dean of Graduate Studies & ResearchDr. Kevin Archerarcherke@cwu.edu3101

 

Procedures: This committee reviews applications for membership on the graduate faculty. This committee also sets the standards for membership on graduate faculty (e.g. terminal degree status, research activity, etc.). It considers the applications of outside (i.e. outside of CWU) thesis committee members for temporary 'courtesy' graduate faculty membership. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty MemberDepartmentEmailPhoneTerm
Dr. Jay Ball (Chair)Theatre Artsjball@cwu.edu1716Oct. 2016
Dr. Marvin BouillonAccountingbouillon@cwu.edu3560Oct. 2016
Dr. Leo D'Acquisto

Nutrition & Exercise Sciences

acquisto@cwu.edu1909Oct. 2016
Dr. Dan Herman

History

hermand@cwu.edu1755Oct. 2016
Dr. Jason IrwinBiology

irwinj@cwu.edu

2884Oct. 2016
Dr. Dan Lipori

Music

liporid@cwu.edu1242Oct. 2016
Dr. Karl Lillquist

Geography

lillquis@cwu.edu1184Oct. 2016
Dr. Lori Sheeran

Anthropology

sheeranl@cwu.edu1434Oct. 2016

 

Curriculum: This committee reviews changes to existing courses/programs and reviews new courses and programs. It also reviews programs every 5 years to ensure that those programs meet discipline-specific graduate standards as well as standards set by the graduate faculty. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty MemberDepartmentEmailPhoneTerm
Dr. Janet Spybrook (Chair)Special Educationspybrook@cwu.edu1861Oct. 2016
Dr. Darren OlsonEngineering Technologyolsond@cwu.edu1913Oct. 2016
Dr. Kirk MathiasPhysical Education, School, & Public Healthmathiask@cwu.edu1051Oct. 2016
Dr. Heath MarrsPsychologymarrsh@cwu.edu2349Oct. 2016
Professor Scott RobinsonTheatre Artsrobinsos@cwu.edu1273Oct. 2016
Dr. Sharryn WalkerLanguage, Literacy, & Special Educationswalker@cwu.edu2133Oct. 2016

 

Academic Standards: This committee reviews existing and/or develops academic policies and procedures for graduate studies. Examples of policies include: minimum admissions standards, requirements for international students, conditional admits (stated conditions, number of admits/year in program/graduate studies overall), probation, dismissal, and capstone requirements. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty MemberDepartmentEmailPhoneTerm
Dr. Kara Gabriel (chair)Psychologygabrielk@cwu.edu1398Oct. 2016
Dr. Duane DowdFamily & Consumer Sciencesdowdd@cwu.edu2791Oct. 2016
Dr. Lisa ElyGeological Sciencesely@cwu.edu2177Oct. 2016
Professor Stephen RobisonArtrobisons@cwu.edu1617Oct. 2016
Dr. Dion RiveraChemistryriverad@cwu.edu2883Oct. 2016
Dr. Kelly BensonEducational Foundations & Curriculum@cwu.edu2064Oct. 2016

Additional Links: