Skip to body

School of Graduate Studies and Research

About the Graduate Council

The Mission of the Graduate Council: 

The mission of the Graduate Council at Central Washington University is to ensure that programs provide a high quality graduate school experience for students, to foster exceptional faculty scholarship and teaching, and to promote contributions to society through effective post-baccalaureate programs.

Graduate Council By-laws

Information about the Graduate Council:

The Graduate Council is the faculty council that is responsible for proposing policy in an advisory capacity to the School of Graduate Studies and Research in terms of the academic standards of graduate programs, the curriculum offered by the graduate programs, procedures governing who may be part of the graduate faculty, minimum admission standards for students to the graduate school, and other issues that relate to faculty governance of the graduate programs.  The council may serve in advisory capacity at the request of graduate students, graduate faculty, university administration, or others requiring advice on issues that involve the graduate school and/or graduate programs.  The Graduate Council seeks to support the School of Graduate Studies and Research at Central Washington University in both mission and vision.

The Graduate Council is comprised of the graduate coordinators of graduate programs that have been properly vetted and approved by the Graduate Council, the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, and the Faculty Senate.  The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, the Associate Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Research, sit in an ex officio capacity on the council.  Other non-voting members may sit on the council if the council deems it appropriate (e.g. graduate students and the Provost).  The chair of the council and the chair of the standing committees (Academic Standards Committee, Curriculum Committee, and the Procedures Committee) are elected to two year terms by members of the council.  Chair of the Graduate Council serves as the chair of the council’s executive committee with the chairs of the other standing committees making up the rest of the executive council.  The Chair of the Academic Standards Committee serves as the vice chair of the council.

COUNCIL MEETINGS
Graduate Council meetings for 2021-2022 Academic Year will Take Place from 3:00 - 5:00 PM

 

DATE LOCATION
October 4, 2021 Zoom
November 1, 2021 Zoom
December 6, 2021 Zoom
January 10, 2022 Zoom
February 7,  2022 Zoom
March 7, 2022 Zoom
April 4, 2022 Zoom
May 2, 2022 Zoom
June 6, 2022 Zoom

Executive: This committee represents the leadership of Graduate Council and serves as the representative advisory body to the graduate dean. This committee meets regularly with the Dean to receive updates about internal and external activities that impact graduate education at CWU. The committee also works with the Dean to strategize/set priorities for graduate studies at CWU.

Position Faculty Member Department Email Phone
509-963-
 Academic Year 2021-2022
Chair Rachel Kirk Art + Design rachel.kirk@cwu.edu 2665  
Chair, Procedures Committee Dr. Lisa Ely

Geological Sciences

lisa.ely@cwu.edu 2177  
Co- Chairs, Curriculum Committee Dr. Emily Rollie
Dr. Tishra Beeson
Theatre Arts
Health Sciences
emily.rollie@cwu.edu 
tishra.beeson@cwu.edu
2016
2494
 
Chair, Academic Standards Committee Dr. Donald Wattam Curriculum, Supervision, & Educational Leadership donald.wattam@cwu.edu 3075  
Secretary Dawn Anderson Graduate Studies dawn.andersond@cwu.edu 3108  

Non-Voting Ex Officio Executive Members:

Position Administrator Email

Phone 509-963-   

Intermin Dean of Graduate Studies & Research Gail Mackin, Ph.D. graddean@cwu.edu 1404
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies & Research Open Position    

Procedures: This committee reviews applications for membership on the graduate faculty. This committee also sets the standards for membership on graduate faculty (e.g. terminal degree status, research activity, etc.). It considers the applications of outside (i.e. outside of CWU) thesis committee members for temporary 'courtesy' graduate faculty membership. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.
 

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Gayla Blaisdell Music gayla.blaisdell@cwu.edu 1316
Dr. Lisa Ely (chair) Geological Sciences grad@geology.cwu.edu 2177
Dr. Ralf Greenwald Psychology - Experimental ralf.greenwald@cwu.edu 3630
Dr. Jason Irwin Biology jason.irwin@cwu.edu 2884
Dr. Jessica Mayhew Primate Behavior jessica.mayhew@cwu.edu 3220
Dr. Roger Schaefer Law and Justice roger.schaefer@cwu.edu 3529
Dr. Denise Shaw CSEL -Master of Arts for Teachers denise.shaw@cwu.edu 2259
Dr. Hideki Takei ITAM hideki.takei@cwu.edu 2064
Dr. Carin Thomas Chemistry carin.thomas@cwu.edu 2815
Dr. Megan Walsh Geography - CERM megan.walsh@cwu.edu 3699

Curriculum: This committee reviews changes to existing courses/programs and reviews new courses and programs. It also reviews programs every 5 years to ensure that those programs meet discipline-specific graduate standards as well as standards set by the graduate faculty. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Tishra Beeson Health Sciences tishra.beeson@cwu.edu 2494
Dr. Amy Claridge Family and Child Life amy.claridge@cwu.edu 2758
Dr. Han Donker Accounting han.donker@cwu.edu 1954
Dr. Emily Rollie (chair) Theatre Arts emily.rollie@cwu.edu 2016

Diversity, Equity & Inclusivity Committee: This committee works within the Graduate Council and across the university to address issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusivity that impact graduate students, faculty and staff. This committee engages with various stakeholders to create a learning environment that is responsive to the needs of all students. This committee is a resource for all graduate students, faculty and staff who seek guidance, support, or education on issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusivity. This committee strives to identify and promote the scholastic achievements of CWU students, faculty, and staff which focus on issues of diversity, equity, and inclusivity.  Finally, this committee is empowered to examine all aspects of graduate education through the lenses of diversity, equity, and inclusivity. The chair of this committee serves on the executive committee of the Graduate Council.

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Morgan Bliss (chair) Safety & Health Management morgan.bliss@cwu.edu 1740
Dr. Charles Li English charles.li@cwu.edu 1598
Dr. Patrick McCutcheon Anthropology patrick.mccutcheon@cwu.edu 2075
Dr. Meaghan Nolte Psychology - Mental Health Counseling meaghan.nolte@cwu.edu 2254
Dr. Christopher Schedler English christopher.schedler@cwu.edu 3432

Academic Standards: This committee reviews existing and/or develops academic policies and procedures for graduate studies. Examples of policies include: minimum admissions standards, requirements for international students, conditional admits (stated conditions, number of admits/year in program/graduate studies overall), probation, dismissal, and capstone requirements. The Chair of this committee also serves on the Executive Committee of Graduate Council.

Faculty Member Department Email Phone 509-963-
Dr. Razvan Andonie Computer Science razvan.andonie@cwu.edu 1430
Dr. Roxanne Easley History roxanne.easley@cwu.edu 1877
Dr. Mark Perez Health & Physcial Ed. mark.perez@cwu.edu 1919
Dr. Karen Roemer Health Sciences - Integrative Human Physiology karen.roemer@cwu.edu 2746
Dr. Don Wattam (chair) CSEL - Higher Education & School Administration donald.wattam@cwu.edu 3075
Dr. Katharine Whitcomb English katharine.whitcomb@cwu.edu 1530

Additional Links:

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu