Skip to body

Center for Latino and Latin American Studies

Nobel Prize Winners


Nelson Mandela - Nobel Peace Prize 1993

July 18, 1918 - December 5, 2013


In the wake of Nelson Mandela's passing, we've made FRONTLINE's The Long Walk of Nelson Mandela available to watch online for the very first time — and many PBS stations will air it as a special broadcast tonight at 9 p.m. (check local listings).

In The Long Walk of Nelson Mandela, FRONTLINE tells the intimate and surprising story of the Nelson Mandela few people know: a bomb-throwing revolutionary who became a skilled politician in prison, and a passionate man who sacrificed the love of his life for a country that needed him more.

Widely hailed as the definitive television biography of Mandela, the documentary draws on stories and insights from Mandela's closest colleagues, fellow prisoners, friends and political adversaries —as well as unique photos and rare archival film.

Beyond the documentary, we have also created an interactive Facebook timeline that chronicles Mandela's formative upbringing, his time in prison, and his trailblazing quest to end apartheid in the country he loved.

Thank you for joining us as we look back on Mandela’s long walk to freedom and profound impact on the world.

PBS Frontline

Read more about Nelson Mandela at The Economist

Latin America


-Mario J. Molina, Mexico (1995)


-Mario Vargas Llosa, Peru (2010)

-Octavio Paz, Mexico (1990)

-Gabriel García Márquez, Colombia (1982)

-Pablo Neruda, Chile (1971)

-Miguel Angel Asturias, Guatemala (1967)

-Gabriela Mistral, Chile (1945)

Nobel Peace Prize

-Rigoberta Menchú Tum, Guatamala (1992)

-Oscar Arias Sánchez, Costa Rica (1987)

-Alfonso García Robles, Mexico (1982)

-Adolfo Pérez Esquivel, Argentina (1980)

-Carlos Saavedra Lamas, Argentina (1936)

Physiology or Medicine

-César Milstein, Argentina (1984)

-Baruj Benacerraf, Venezuela (1980)

-Peter Medawar, Brazil (1960)

-Bernardo Houssay, Argentina (1947)



-Camilo José Cela (1989)

-Vicente Aleixandre (1977)

-Juan Ramón Jiménez (1956)

-Jacinto Benavente (1922)

-José Echegaray (1904)

Physiology or Medicine

-Severo Ochoa (1959)

-Santiago Ramón y Cajal (1906)

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.