Skip to body

Center for Latino and Latin American Studies

Faculty

 
 
 
 

Anthropology | Africana and Black Studies | Biology | Communication | Economics | English | Ethnic Studies/Sociology | World Languages and Cultures | Geography and Land Studies | History | Political Science | Political Science & Interdisciplinary Studies

Anthropology

Rodrigo Renteria-Valencia

Phone: (509) 963-3549
Email: Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization; Environmental Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology, Semiotics, Visual Anthropology, Ritual and Performance Theory, Human Geography, Maritime Anthropology, Indigenous Studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the Greater Southwest (including northern Mexico).



 


Africana and Black Studies


 
 


Biology


Daniel Beck
, Program Director

Phone: (509) 963-2886
Email: beckd@cwu.edu
Interests: Northwest vertebrate terrestrial ecology, habitat selection, tropical dry forest ecology, biology of helodermatid lizards.

 


Kristine Ernest, Professor

Phone: (509) 963-2805
Email: ernestk@cwu.edu
Interests: Population and community ecology. I am particularly interested in community structure, plant-herbivore interactions, and tropical biology.

 


Communication

Cesar Garcia, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1097
Email: cesar.garcia@cwu.edu
Interests: Global public relations, image restoration
strategies, sport public relations professional.

 

Cesar Garcia


Economics


Koushik Ghosh
, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1014
Email: ghoshk@cwu.edu
Interests: Public Finance and Policy, Global Issues,
International Trade and Policy, Money, Banking and
Financial Markets, as well as Managerial Economics.

 


English

Chris Schedler, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1357
Email: Christopher.Schedler@cwu.edu
Interests: American Literature after 1865, Multicultural Literatures (particularly American Indian and Chicano/a), Modernism, and Border Theory.

 


Pedro Xavier Cavazos, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1573
Email: Pedro.Cavazos@cwu.edu

Cavazos teaches in the Africana and Black Studies, Latino and Latin American Studies, and in the Professional and Creative Writing Programs at Central Washington University.

 

[Back to Top]

Ethnic Studies/Sociology

Nelson Pichardo Almanzar, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1348
Email: Nelson.Pichardo@cwu.edu
Interests: Minority Groups, Ethnic Awareness, Social Movements, Political Sociology, the Sociology of Sport, Sociology of Education, and Sociology of the Future.

 


Geography and Land Studies


Craig Revels
, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1447
Email: craig.revels@cwu.edu

Interests and expertise: cultural-historical Geography, landscape, Latin America

 


Elvin Delgado, Faculty Staff

Phone: (509) 963-2184
Email: elvin.delgado@cwu.edu
Interests: Energy and Capitalism, Political Economy and Nature, Critical Resource Geography and Political Ecology.

 



History


Jason Dormady
, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-1244
Email: jason.dormady@cwu.edu
Interests: Latin American History; Modern Mexico; Religion

 



Political Science


Gilberto Garcia
, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-2416
Email: ggarcia@cwu.edu
Interests: Latinos in the Pacific Northwest; Latino/a and Chicano/a Studies; U.S.-Mexico Border; Latin American Politics

 

Gilberto Garcia


 Political Science & Interdisciplinary Studies


Stefanie Wickstrom
, PhD
Phone: 509-963-2408
Email: stefanie.wickstrom@cwu.edu
Interests:  Social movements, environmental justice, and identity politics

 

 
World Languages and Cultures

Eric Mayer, Program Faculty

Phone: (509) 963-3334
Email: Eric.Mayer@cwu.edu
Interests: Spanish Renaissance and Baroque literatures, with an emphasis on Cervantes.

 



Stella Moreno, Program Faculty,

Phone: (509) 963-3347
Email: Stella.Moreno@cwu.edu
Interests: Latin American and Spanish Poetry; Spanish and Latin American Narrative of the XX Century; Hispanic Cinema; Latin American Cinema; Latino Cultures of the United States; The Literary Translation.

 

 

 

[Back to Top]

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu