Sarah Scott
Administrative Operations Coordinator

Equity & Inclusivity Recognition: President's Diversity Awards


The Central Washington University (CWU) Diversity Awards recognize the work of people or groups who have made positive, observable, and sustainable impacts on diversity, inclusion, equity for the campus and/or wider community. We are looking for examples of outstanding individuals or groups who made a real difference and progress towards an equitable campus or community environment.

The intent is to make visible the sometimes hidden or unacknowledged efforts made to address social inequalities. CWU President Jim Wohlpart wishes to honor individuals who have worked to create diverse and inclusive environments.

Awardees receive a certificate and a personalized engraved glass award during the annual diversity awards celebration.

Evaluation Criteria

Any CWU employee, student, alumni, or a Kittitas County resident can submit a nomination. The Diversity Awards Committee uses the following criteria below to evaluate nominations.

  • Advocating, implementing, and working in partnership to promote inclusion and equity through events, programs, and other social justice activities.
  • Demonstrating outstanding efforts by taking action and actively supporting inclusive and equitable environments.
  • Exemplifying a sustained commitment to the values of diversity, inclusion, equity and/or social justice.

Please note that multiple letters of support, detailed examples, and multiple nominators strengthen a submission.

Nomination Questions – Sigrid Davison

  • 2019 President’s Diversity Award Recipients
    • Student Award – Samuel Gutierrez, president of Brother 2 Brother, a campus organization that assists participants, mostly young men in need of guidance, to excel academically, socially, culturally, professionally, and in the community.
    • Alumni Award – John Haroldson, who graduated from CWU in 1986, and became the first Latino elected as district attorney in the state of Oregon. Haroldson is chair of the U.S. Hispanic Leadership Institute Board and has mentored a number of Latinx CWU students.
    • Faculty Award – Teresa Divine, associate professor of Law and Justice at CWU, who is being cited for her commitment to social justice. Divine helped establish the Black Graduation at CWU and serves as advisor to the Black Student Union and as a mentor to a number of CWU students of color.
    • Staff Award – Natalia Thomas, who serves as student services generalist for CWU’s Westside Student Life. Thomas has been actively involved in advancing community-based service initiatives at the centers including helping to organize campus celebrations honoring Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., helping to develop an Alternative Thanksgiving Dinner at the Lynnwood Center, and facilitating the establishment of First Generation Week in collaboration with Edmonds Community College.
    • Staff Award – Jason Berthon-Koch, CWU’s police chief, who also works closely with students groups such as Brother 2 Brother, for whom he is an advisor, and the Black Student Union. Berthon-Koch is being recognized for his commitment to diversity and to policing without bias.
    • Community Award – Pastor Jen Stuart of the First United Methodist Church in Ellensburg, who helped establish Central Washington Justice for Our Neighbors, a clinic to assist those with immigration questions or issues.
    • Community Award Honorable Mention – Rolf Williams, owner and manager of Jerrol’s, who is being lauded for his years of support for the Kittitas County Parent to Parent organization. The group offers emotional support and information to families raising children with special needs.
  • 2020 President's Diversity Award Recipients
    • Student Award – Jessica Hernandez
    • Alumni Award – Mal Stewman
    • Faculty Award – Dr. Michel O'Brien
    • Faculty Award – Dr. Susana Flores
    • Staff Award – Verónica Gomez-Vilchis
    • Community Award – Tylene Carnell
    • Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Bobby Cummings
  • 2021 Award Recipeints
  • 2022 Award Recipients
    • Bobby Cummings Lifetime Achievement Award - Lucinda Carnell
    • Difference Maker - Kremiere Jackson
    • Hope Amason and Natashia Lindesy
    • Yukari Amos
    • Chris Bigelow
    • Miriam Bocchetti
    • CWU Public Safety
    • Josue Q. Estrada
    • Andres Moreno-Bonito
    • Tiffany Smith