Skip to body


More History Department Award Winners!

Will the parade of award winners in the department this year ever end?

We have more good news to report from the history trenches! Graduate student Rebecca Hastings has won the Dale and Mary Jo Comstock Distinguished Thesis Award for the best thesis in the university for 2012-2013. This is a major coup for Rebecca and our department!  Join us in congratulating her on this prestigious and well-deserved honor.

And Rebecca is in good company.  Fellow history graduate student Talea Anderson also walked away with a slew of awards this year:  the SOURCE Graduate Scholar of the Year, on top of winning this year's Phi Alpha Theta Conference's Best Graduate Presentation Award, in addition to the Rodene Graduate Expenses Reimbursement Award and the university's Robert Topmiller Prize for best written MA thesis.

Also, Daniel Mailhot, an undergraduate in our department, was awarded the Clareta Olmstead Smith Scholarship, and Ryan Gregson, already the winner of several major university awards this year, took home the history department’s Barto Award.

This has been a banner year for the history department and we are so proud of all our award winners.

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.