Skip to body


Student Awards

Each year, the Department of Geography recognizes some of our best students with the following awards:

The Brooks-Shaw Award

Named after Reginald Shaw and James Brooks, two early and influential faculty members in the CWU Geography and Land Studies Department, these annual awards are given to select undergraduate students majoring in geography who demonstrate academic excellence and promise. Dr. Shaw, known for his research on the Columbia River, served CWU from 1935 to 1952 after completing his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin. Many of his students, including Dr. Brooks, went on to complete graduate work in geography. Dr. Brooks graduated from CWU in 1950. He was professor in the department from 1961 to 1994, and president of the university between 1961 and 1978.

Since the inaugural awards in 1996, more than 100 students have received a Brooks-Shaw Award, with the award typically $1000 per student. A top priority of the department, and especially the Scholarship Committee, is to boost the funding of the Brooks-Shaw Endowment through new contributions from alumni (including former award recipients), faculty (current and former), and others with an interest in helping make CWU more affordable for our best students.

A list of recipients of the Brooks-Shaw Award is available here.

The Macinko Award

The $500 annual award is funded by the generosity of Maryann Macinko is named after George Macinko, who taught in the Geography Department for more than thirty years. Dr. Macinko taught a variety of courses with a particular emphasis on conservation and environmental studies, and with his wife has been very active in the local community. This award is given each year to a junior who has done well in classes and displays the potential to become a lifelong geographer.

A list of recipients of the Macinko Award is available here.

The Hultquist Distinguished Service Award

This award is named for Dr. Nancy Hultquist, who retired from the department in 2010 after many years of serving her students with unstinting care. The award is given to students who also go out of their way to serve others in the Geography Department, Central Washington University, or the broader Ellensburg Community.

A list of recipients of the Hultquist Distinguished Service Award is available here.

Martin Kaatz Geography Scholarship

This award was established by the Kaatz family to honor the memory of Martin Kaatz who taught in the Department of Geography and Land Studies from 1952 until his retirement in the 1980s. He was  a highly respected teacher and researcher and served as chair of the department for 15 years. His expertise in land use planning and careful approach to problem solving made Marty an invaluable member of many local, regional, and state. In 1980, Dr. Kaatz was named CWU's Distinguished Professor of Public Service. Marty was an avid outdoorsman and especially enjoyed cross-country skiing. The insights he gained through his exploration of our region were instrumental to his teaching, research, and service.

A list of the recipients of the Martin Kaatz Geography Scholarship is available here.

Anthony Sowards Geography Phoenix Scholarship

Tony Sowards is an alumnus of the department. In fact, he won a Brook-Shaw Award in 2005! Since then, he has had a highly successful career in geospatial information technology in the Seattle area. Mr. Sowards generously funded the scholarship to make a university education more affordable for some of our best students.

A list of the recipients of Anthony Sowards Geography Phoenix Scholarship is available here.

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.