Skip to body

World Languages and Cultures

I've decided on a World Languages major or minor. Now where do I get advising?

Once you are in a major/minor or near to declaring one, in most academic departments at CWU, you will have BOTH a faculty advisor and an academic support advisor. We work as a team. Together, we address all the details of your academic progress with the goals of getting you to degree completion and graduation in a timely manner.

The Major advisor will address topics such as:

  • Course choices and specialization within the major
  • Career pathways within that discipline
  • Internship and Research opportunities
  • Mentoring and letters of recommendation
  • Progress to degree completion and graduation

The academic support advisor will address topics such as:

  •  General Education (basic and breadth) requirements
  •  Progress to degree completion and graduation
  •  General academic planning
  •  Academic warning/ probation/ suspension
  •  Advising holds

The World Languages Academic Support Counselor is Greg Rankin he is located in Academic Advising - 145 Randall, Phone 963-3423 greg.rankin@cwu.edu

The WL Major and Minor advisors are:

ASL: Jer Loudenback, Language and Literature 102C Phone 834-7579 Jer.Loudenback@cwu.edu

Chinese: Yuanxia Liu, Language and Literature 1020 yuanxia.liu@cwu.edu

French: Dr. Michael Johnson, Language and Literature 102I Phone 963-3343 michael.johnson@cwu.edu

German: Dr. Laurie Moshier, Language and Literature 102G Phone 963-1219 laurie.moshier@cwu.edu

Japanese: Dr. Josh Nelson, Language and Literature 102K Phone 963-1768 Joshua.nelson@cwu.edu

Russian: Dr. Volha Isakava, Language and Literature 102F Phone 963-3338 Volha.isakava@cwu.edu

Spanish: Dr. Rodney Bransdorfer, Language and Literature 102M Phone 963-2361 rodney.bransdorfer@cwu.edu

Checkout this tool to maximize your advising experience.
 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu