Skip to body

Family and Consumer Sciences

Educator of the Year

Karen Bergh

FCSEA 2012-13 -Educator of the Year

Karen Bergh was recognized during the FCSEA luncheon at ACTE as our 2012/13 Educator of the Year for her many attributes and contributions to the field of Family and Consumer Sciences. 

The Family and Consumer Sciences Education Association  presented Karen Berth, from Central Washington University, located in Ellensburg, Washington with the 2012/13 Educator of the Year award during the ACTE meeting in Nashville, Tennessee.  Renee was honored for her numerous contributions to the profession.  This prestigious award was generously sponsored by Goodheart-Willcox. 

This award identifies and recognizes outstanding members for significant contributions.  Recipient's of this award must have made significant contributions in representing and promoting family and consumer sciences education; or worked cooperatively with other organizations dedicated to the improvement of family and consumer sciences education; or developed innovative projects and/or programs to enhance family and consumer sciences.  Previous recipients have included:  Bertha King, U.S. Dept. of Education, Washington D.C.; Emma Yanok, Westerville North High School, Westerville, Ohio; Dr. Daisy Stewart, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia; Judith Hetherly, Austin, Texas; Jo Kister, Department of Education from Columbus, Ohio; Wendy Way, University of Wisconsin; Lela Goar, Eastern New Mexico University; Wanda Fox, Purdue University; Peggy Wild, Indiana Dept of Education; Mary Harlan, University of Central Arkansas; Jewell Deene Ellis, Kentucky Dept. of Education; Judith Kreutzer, Fairmont State College, West Virginia; Jan Bowers, Central Washington University, Washington; Debra DeBates, South Dakota State University, South Dakota; Marsha Ritter, Missouri; and Renee Ryburn from the University Central Arkansas.

The FCSEA's Educator of the Year award is sponsored by Goodheart-Willcox.

For more information, contact us at: