Skip to body


College of Arts and Humanities

Lion Rock Visiting Writers Series

The Lion Rock Visiting Writers Series schedules readings every quarter and features nationally known writers reading their own work. We have hosted two winners of the MacArthur Genius Award, as well as the WA State Poet Laureate, and recipients of NEA Fellowships and other major prizes.

Each spring, students enrolled in ENG 468: Contemporary Writers Colloquium (an upper-level multi-genre writing workshop), meet with three visiting writers from the Lion Rock Visiting Writers Series. We also sponsor talks by professional editors and publishers, readings by faculty and students, including open mics, and an annual reading for students who have their work published in CWU's literary magazine, Manastash.

Past readers in the Lion Rock Visiting Writers Series include Lucia Perillo, Anthony Doerr, Major Jackson, Kim Barnes, Linda Bierds, David Guterson, David Wojahn, Prageeta Sharma and Sam Green.

2019-2020 Readings




Tuesday, October 29

Craft talk at 12 noon; Reading at 6 p.m.

Both events in Brooks Library 2nd Floor Commons

Books will be available for purchase courtesy of the Wildcat Shop.

Taneum Bambrick is the author of Vantage, which was selected by Sharon Olds for the 2019 American Poetry Review/Honickman first book award (distributed by Copper Canyon Press). A Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, Taneum is from Ellensburg and currently teaches online for CWU.

Read a review of her book!

Read an interview with Bambrick! 

You can learn more about Bambrick by visiting her website!

Bambrick's work would pair well with course themes that explore environment and/or ecocriticism, conservation, landscape and regional history, gender, sexuality, class, and violence.


Sponsored by CWU College of Arts and Humanities, CWU Dept. of English, Brooks Library,
Multimodal Education Center, Karen Gookin, CWU Wildcat Shop, CWU Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies



2018-2019 Visiting Writers

2017-2018 Visiting Writers

2016-2017 Visiting Writers

2015-2016 Visiting Writers

2014-2015 Visiting Writers

2013-2014 Visiting Writers

2012-2013 Visiting Writers

2011-2012 Visiting Writers

2010-2011 Visiting Writers

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.