Skip to body

Communication

About

What is Communication?

Communication is a social science discipline that focuses upon how, why, and with what effects people use language and media to convey information. It is among the oldest and the newest fields of study, with historical roots going back to the Greeks and Romans, and other ancient cultures, and with modern roots grounded in the latest developments in science and technology. It provides academic preparation for employment in journalism, the media, business and industry, government, education, and social and community service, as well as for advanced work in communication or such fields as law, film, or the ministry.

en español

Spring 2015 Faculty Office Hours

COMMUNICATION DEPARTMENT / FILM & VIDEO STUDIES

p: 509-963-1055  f: 509-963-1060  e: communication@cwu.edu

Ms. Marjorie Morgan, Interim Department Chair

OFFICE:  BOU 232B, PH: 963-1068  EMAIL: MMorgan@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: Monday-Friday 1pm-4:30pm

Dr. César García, Public Relations

OFFICE:  BOU 227, PH:  963-1097, EMAIL: garciace@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: Monday and Wednesday 9am-12pm

Dr. Phil Backlund, Communication Studies

OFFICE: BOU 228, PH: 963-1852 EMAIL: backphil@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  Wednesday 9am-12pm

Prof. Kevin Brett, Public Relations / Advertising

OFFICE:  BOU 219, PH:  963-3216, EMAIL: brettk@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: Tuesday and Thursday 1:30pm-4:30pm

Ms. Jennifer Green, Print Journalism

Office: 221, PH:  963-1046  EMAIL: jgreen@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: By appointment only.

Ms. Helen Harrison, Film and Video Studies

OFFICE:  BOU 207, PH:  963-1117, EMAIL: harrishe@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  Tuesday and Thursday 4pm-5pm

Prof. Elizabeth Kerns, Public Relations

OFFICE:  BOU 229, PH:  963-1966, EMAIL: kernse@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  Monday and Wednesday 12pm-3pm

Ms. Emily DuPlessis, Business and Professional Speaking

OFFICE:  BOU 207, PH:  963-1117, EMAIL: DuPlessisE1@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  By appointment only.

Prof. Cynthia Mitchell, Digital Journalism / Observer

OFFICE:  BOU 226, PH: 963-1063, EMAIL: mitchelc@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: M & W 2:45pm-5pm and Tuesday 12:45pm-1:45pm, & 3pm-3:45pm

Dr. Sacheen Mobley-Welsh, Communication Studies

OFFICE:  BOU 230, PH:  963-1922, EMAIL: mobleys@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  Tuesday 11am-4pm and Thursday (via skype) 11am-12pm

Dr. Michael Ogden, Program Director - Film and Video Studies

OFFICE:  BOU 224, PH:  963-1067, EMAIL: ogden@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  M & W 9am-11am, Tuesday 1pm-3pm, Thursday by appointment

Ms. Terri Reddout, Public Relations / Broadcast Journalism

OFFICE:  BOU 220, PH:  963-1056, EMAIL: reddoutt@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: Monday-Wednesday 1pm-2pm and Tuesday 10am-10:50am

Prof. Maria Sanders, Film and Video Studies

OFFICE:  BOU 225, PH: 963-1089, EMAIL: sanderma@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: Monday-Thursday 3pm-4:30pm

Mr. Toby Staab, Digital Journalism / Observer

OFFICE:  BOU 223, PH:  963-1024, EMAIL: staabt@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  M 8am-8:50 am, 11am-2pm, T 8am-8:50am, 12pm-1pm, W 11am-2pm, TH 8am-8:50am & by appointment.

Dr. Nadene Vevea, Communication Studies

OFFICE:  BOU 231, PH:  963-1072, EMAIL: vevean@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: M & W 8am-9am and M-TH 11am-12pm

Mr. Jon Ward, Film and Video Studies

OFFICE:  BOU 216, PH: 963-2893, EMAIL: jonward@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS: Tuesday and Thursday 2pm-3pm

Mr. Steve Woodward, Digital Journalism

OFFICE: BOU 207, PH: 936-1117, EMAIL: woodwards@cwu.edu

OFFICE HOURS:  Monday and Wednesday 1pm-4pm and by appointment.

Ms. Kristin Gaskill, Observer Advertising & Business Manager

OFFICE:  BOU 222, PH: 963-1026,  EMAIL: gaskillk@cwu.edu