Skip to body

Biology

College of the Sciences

Biology Advising

Academic Year 2020-2021

Advisor List for Biology Majors and Minors

Fall Quarter 2020 advising will be handled remotely.  Please reach out to your advisor by email unless otherwise noted in their contact info.  If you have not worked with one of our advisors before, please read below regarding their advising specializations and select an advisor accordingly.  You may also contact the Biology Office at biology@cwu.edu for assistance in choosing or connecting with an advisor.

 

Dr. Lucinda Carnell 

How to Contact: lucinda.carnell@cwu.edu (on leave from 9/17 to 10/29)

Advising Specializations: Molecular & Cell Biology

 

Dr. David Darda 

How to Contact: david.darda@cwu.edu

Advising Specializations: Biomedical, and Pre-Health Careers

 

Dr. Blaise Dondji 

How to Contact: blaise.dondji@cwu.edu

Advising Specializations: Biomedical, and Pre-Health Careers

 

​​Dr. Paul James  

How to Contact: paul.james@cwu.edu or 509 963-1895

Advising Specializations: Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, General Biology

 

Dr. Mary Poulson  

How to Contact: mary.poulson@cwu.edu or 509 963-2808

Advising Specializations: Molecular & Cell Biology, General Biology and Pre-Health Careers


Biology Faculty Advisors for Teaching Majors

Dr. Ian Quitadamo 

How to Contact: iq@cwu.edu

Dr. Jenny Dechaine 

How to Contact: dechaine@cwu.edu

See also:  

Ms. Rachel George, Academic Advisor for STEM Teaching

[email: Rachel.George@cwu.edu]


For Other Advising (General Education & University-Wide Requirements)

Please contact:  Ms. Mary Cairns Park


How to Become a Biology Major or Minor

Please submit an application to one of the advisors listed above, according to your Biology major / specialization preference. Minor applications may be sent to any of the Biology Major Advisors (excluding those who advise Biology Teaching Majors).

Application to the Biology Major or Minor [PDF]

 

What to Do Once You Become A Biology Major or Minor

Complete and File a Course of Study*: 

Please contact a Biology Major Advisor early in your major to begin planning your coursework, also known as a "course of study".  The course of study worksheets linked below list the courses you need to complete your major or minor.

B.A. and B.S. Major Course Requirements and Course of Study Worksheets

Biology Minor Course of Study Worksheet

CWU Online Catalog lists the co- and pre-requisites for courses in your course of study and should be used when planning your course of study. Be sure to select the catalog year that is the same year you entered the major.

*For signature approval, please fill out and sign the form using an electronic signature, and then email a PDF to the person whose signature you require next, whether that be your Biology Major Advisor, or Department Chair.  Each form shows the signatures required.  

Please do not send as an image (ex: .jpg or .png).

Please do not password protect or  "share" the PDF through Acrobat as it stops the advisor from adding their own signature.

How To Sign And Send Your PDF Document

Other Forms and Information

Biology Major Checklist

Major GPA Calculator

Biology Schedule of Course Offerings

Forms from Registrar Services (Graduation, Individual Study, Course Substitution, Change of Schedule/Overload, etc.)


Pre-Major Assistance

Discover Orientations  I  Initial Pre-Major Advising Info  I  Advising Information for Transfer Students


 

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu