Skip to body

Anthropology and Museum Studies

Faculty

Kathleen Barlow, Professor and Chair
barlowk@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Learning and Culture, Childhood, Psychological Anthropology,   Museum Anthropology, Symbolism, Gender, Art and Aesthetics, Material Culture, Regional Ethnography.  (on sabbatical 2012-2013)

Areas: Melanesia, Oceania, United States

John Alsoszatai-Petheo

John Alsoszatai-Petheo, Professor
JApetheo@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Biological Anthropology and Archaeology, Paleoanthropology, Human Osteology, early lithic technology, and the initial peopling of the Americas. He has traveled widely abroad and in the United States, and has done field research in California, Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, and Germany.

J. Hope Amason, Asst. Professor
Amason@cwu.edu.  

Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies; Appalachia, US South.

(See full CV)

Tracy J. Andrews, Professor
andrewst@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Sociocultural Anthropology; Native Americans; Ecological and Natural Resource Anthropology; Medical Anthropology; Political Ecology; Gender; Minority and International Health Issues; Ethnicity, Identity, and Cultural Dynamics.

Mark Auslander

Mark Auslander, Associate Professor and Museum Director
auslanderm@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Sociocultural anthropology, museum anthropology, art and aesthetics, meaning in the material world, symbolic mediation, ritual and performance theory, historical anthropology, race and class, engaged anthropology, slavery studies, contemporary African and Diasporic art. Ethnographic areas: Sub-saharan Africa, Zambia and South Africa; African Diaspora, United States; African American communities; U.S. South

Steve Hackenberger

Steve Hackenberger, Professor and Co-Director of Resource Management
hackenbe@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Cultural ecology, archaeology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures.

Raymond A. Hall, Assistant Professor
hallray@cwu.edu 

Areas of specialization:  folklore, with emphasis on material culture within the African Diaspora in Latin America.  See Africana and Black Studies Program

Mary Lee Jensvold

Mary Lee Jensvold, Associate Professor 
jensvold@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: chimpanzee sign language studies; ape behavior, communication, & culture; chimpanzee care & enrichment; non-verbal behavior

Joseph Lorenz

Joseph Lorenz, Associate Professor
lorenzj@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Genetic analysis of primate populations, forensic DNA analysis, evolution, using genetic data to trace population histories

Patrick M. Lubinski

Patrick M. Lubinski, Professor
lubinski@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America.

Patrick T. McCutcheon, Professor
mccutchp@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Archaeology, Evolutionary Theoretical Perspectives, Fieldwork and Laboratory Methods, Archaeometry, Lithic Analysis, Cultural Resource Management, North American Prehistory.

Lene Pedersen, Professor 
pedersenl@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Cultural Anthropology, Visual Anthropology, Symbolic Anthropology, Ecological Anthropology, Ritual, Social Organization, Post-Colonialism, Southeast Asia (Indonesia), Circumpolar North, Sub-Saharan Africa. Natural Resource Management.

Lori K. Sheeran, Professor
sheeranl@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise:  Biological anthropology; Tibetan macaques, tourism, and aging; Gibbon behavior, ecology, and conservation; Primate conservation; Primate social behavior 
Penglin Wang

Penglin Wang, Professor
wangp@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China.

 

Emeritus 

 

 
Loran Cutsinger

Loran E. Cutsinger, Associate Professor
cutsinge@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Economic/ecological anthropology, gender studies, cultural anthropology, Caribbean/Latin America, US, Russia, Middle East, Native Americans of the Northern Rockies. (retired, 2012-2013)

Anne S. Denman, Professor Emeritus
denmanne@cwu.edu


Interests and Expertise: Dr. Anne Denman is a cultural anthropologist with particular interest in American Culture, intercultural issues and gender roles. She has done field work in Brittany, France.

William C. Smith, Professor Emeritus
smithw@cwu.edu


Interests and Expertise: Archaeology, World Prehistory, Museum Studies, Collections Management, and Computer Applications.

Lecturers

 

 

Neal Endacott, PhD. 
endacott@cwu.edu