Skip to body

Anthropology and Museum Studies

College of the Sciences
Give to Anthropology

Contact Us

Contact Us
Dean Hall 357A
Phone: (509) 963-3201
E-mail: anthro@cwu.edu

Faculty & Staff

J. Hope Amason, PhD, Associate Professor
Director, Museum of Culture and Environment

Hope.Amason@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South

 

Penelope Anderson, BA, Senior Secretary

Penelope.Anderson@cwu.edu

 


Lynn Bethke, MA, Collections Manager, Museum of Culture & Environment

Lynn.Bethke@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Museum collections care, object preservation, museum technology, museum administration, exhibit design

https://www.cwu.edu/museum/


Marwa Ghazali, PhD, Assistant Professor

Marwa.Ghazali@cwu.edu 

ON LEAVE 2021-2022

Dr. Ghazali is a McMillan Stewart Fellowship recipient, Du Bois Fellows Program at the Hutchins Center for African and African-American Research, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Interests & Expertise: Critical medical anthropology; global health; political economy; violence; displacement; migration; embodiment; trauma; chronic conditions; Africa, Middle East, and US diasporas


Steven Hackenberger, PhD, Professor

Steven.Hackenberger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural ecology, archaeology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures

 


Lourdes Henebry DeLeon, MA, NAGPRA Director

 

Lourdes.Henebry-DeLeon@cwu.edu

 

Interests & Expertise: Native American Grave Protection and Repatriation Act, indigenizing bioarcheology and human remains documentation, restorative methodologies, histories of collecting and collections, North America

 

 

 


Nicole Jastremski, PhD, Assistant Professor
Director, Forensic Certificate

Nicole.Jastremski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, mortuary analysis, paleopathology, taphonomy, identity formation, Ecuador


Patrick M. Lubinski, PhD, Professor, Department Chair

Pat.Lubinski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America


Jessica A. Mayhew, PhD, Associate Professor
Director, Primate Behavior & Ecology Program

Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primate social behavior and socio-cognition, ethnoprimatology, the large-bodied apes, play behavior


Patrick T. McCutcheon, PhD, Professor 
Co-Director, Cultural and Environmental Resource Management

Patrick.McCutcheon@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, evolutionary theoretical perspectives, fieldwork and laboratory methods, archaeometry, lithic analysis, cultural resource management, North American prehistory


Lene Pedersen, PhD, Professor
 

Lene.Pedersen@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural anthropology, visual anthropology, symbolic anthropology, ecological anthropology, ritual, social organization, post-colonialism, southeast Asia (Indonesia), circumpolar north, sub-saharan Africa, natural resource management


Rodrigo F. Rentería-Valencia, PhD, Assistant Professor

Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental anthropology, linguistic anthropology, semiotics, visual anthropology, ritual and performance theory, human geography, maritime anthropology, indigenous studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)


Lori K. Sheeran, PhD, Professor

Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primates of Asia, primate conservation, primate social behavior

 

Karisa Terry, PhD, Senior Lecturer

Karisa.Terry@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, Paleolithic adaptations, hunter-gatherer-fishers, migration, evolutionary archaeology, chipped stone, ceramics, Northeast Asia


Penglin Wang, PhD, Professor

Penglin.Wang@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China


Part-time Faculty & Research Associates

Josh Allen, MS, Research Associate

alle0615@gmail.com

Interests & Expertise:  Cultural Resource Management, Washington, Oregon, and California cultural resource law and regulation, historical archaeology, Plateau pre-contact history, lithic analysis 


Kathleen Barlow, PhD, Professor Emeritus, Senior Lecturer

Kathleen.Barlow@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Learning and culture, childhood, psychological anthropology, museum anthropology, symbolism, gender, art and aesthetics, material culture, regional ethnography, Melanesia, Oceania, United States

 


Anthony Denise, MS, Research Associate

Anthony@chimpsnw.org

Interests & Expertise:  nonhuman primate behavior and biology; captive animal care, management and welfare

 

 


Mary Lee Jensvold, PhD, Senior Lecturer

jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests & Expertise: Chimpanzee sign language studies, ape behavior, communication, culture, chimpanzee care & enrichment, non-verbal behavior (see Fauna Foundation)

 


Alexandra J. Lewis-Lorentz, PhD, Research Associate

Alexandra@ajlproductions.com

Interests & Expertise:   Applied Anthropology - bilingual/multilingual video/film production with a focus on farmworker health and safety; visual anthropology, ethnohistory, native peoples of the American northeast, medical anthropology, sociocultural anthropology; identity as tied to place, storytelling and human migration, Mexico:  prehistory, history and culture.  (see www.ajlproductions.com, www.farmworkertraining.com)



Timothy McHale, PhD, Lecturer

Timothy.McHale@cwu.edu

Web: https://www.tsmchale.com/
Interests & Expertise:  Biocultural perspectives on the evolution of human behavior and physiology; evolution of middle childhood; behavioral endocrinology; life history theory; evolutionary psychology; evolution of human sexuality; sports physiology; competition; Hong Kong children

 


J.B. Mulcahy, MS, Lecturer, Research Associate

jb@chimpsanctuarynw.org

Interests & Expertise: Captive primate welfare, environmental enrichment, chimpanzee behavior (see Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest)

 


Angela Neller, MA, Lecturer, Research Associate

anelle1@gcpud.org


Interests & Expertise:   Museums, repatriation, rights of indigenous peoples, curation, community collaboration, indigeneity and decolonozation, cultural resource management; Columbia Plateau, Hawaii 

CV:

 

 

Megan Partlow, PhD, Research Associate

Meganapartlow@gmail.com

Interests & Expertise:  Archaeology, vertebrate zooarchaeology, fish remains, coastal Alaska, Pacific Northwest, Rocky Mountains 



Isabelle Sarton Miller, PhD, Senior Lecturer, Research Associate

Isabelle.Miller@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Bio-cultural anthropology, adaptation to extreme environments: High altitude (Altiplano of Bolivia), cold (Northern territories, Canada, Alaska), hot and humid (Saint Kitts)

 



Sara Vickers, MS, Lecturer

Sara.Vickers@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise:  Forensic anthropology, human osteology, cultural resource management, water resources in the Yakima Basin, tributary supplementation, and restoration.


Professor Emeritus

John Alsoszatai-Petheo, In Memoriam (1949-2019)


Tracy J. Andrews, PhD, Professor Emeritus

Tracy.Andrews@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Sociocultural anthropology, Native Americans, ecological and natural resource anthropology, medical anthropology, political ecology, gender, minority and international health issues, ethnicity, identity, and cultural dynamics


Loran E. Cutsinger, PhD, Professor Emeritus

Loran.Cutsinger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Economic/ecological anthropology, gender studies, cultural anthropology, Caribbean/Latin America, US, Russia, Middle East, Native Americans of the Northern Rockies


Anne S. Denman, In Memorium (1938-2020)


Raymond A. Hall, In Memoriam (1949-2018)


William C. Smith, PhD, Professor Emeritus

William.Smith@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, world Prehistory, museum studies, collections management, and computer applications

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu