Skip to body

Anthropology and Museum Studies

Faculty

 

 

J. Hope Amason, Asst. Professor and Interim Director, Museum of Culture and Environment
Amason@cwu.edu.  

Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies; Appalachia, US South.

(See full CV)

 

 

Steve Hackenberger

Steve Hackenberger, Professor 
hackenbe@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Cultural ecology, archaeology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures.

Raymond A. Hall, Associate Professor
hallray@cwu.edu 

Areas of specialization:  folklore, with emphasis on material culture within the African Diaspora in Latin America.  See Africana and Black Studies Program

Nicole Jastremski, Assist. Professor                            Nicole.Jastremski@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Biological anthropology, Forensic anthropology, Bioarchaeology, Mortuary analysis, Paleopathology, Taphonomy, Identity formation, Ecuador.

See full CV

 

 

Patrick M. Lubinski, Professor (on sabbatical, 2017-2018)
lubinski@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America.

Jessica Mayhew, PhD., Asst. Professor
mayhewj@cwu.edu (see full CV)

Interests and Expertise: Biological anthropology, primate social behavior and socio-cognition, great apes, play behavior

Patrick T. McCutcheon, Professor, Interim Director AIS and CERM, 2017-2018
mccutchp@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Archaeology, Evolutionary Theoretical Perspectives, Fieldwork and Laboratory Methods, Archaeometry, Lithic Analysis, Cultural Resource Management, North American Prehistory.

Lene Pedersen, Professor and Chair
pedersenl@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Cultural Anthropology, Visual Anthropology, Symbolic Anthropology, Ecological Anthropology, Ritual, Social Organization, Post-Colonialism, Southeast Asia (Indonesia), Circumpolar North, Sub-Saharan Africa. Natural Resource Management.

Rodrigo F. Rentería-Valencia, Asst. Professor rrodrigo@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization; Environmental Anthropology, Linguistic Anthropology, Semiotics, Visual Anthropology, Ritual and Performance Theory, Human Geography, Maritime Anthropology, Indigenous Studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the Greater Southwest (including northern Mexico).
Website: rrodrigo.com​

Lori K. Sheeran, Professor
sheeranl@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise:  Biological anthropology; Tibetan macaques, tourism, and aging; Gibbon behavior, ecology, and conservation; Primate conservation; Primate social behavior 

Penglin Wang

Penglin Wang, Professor
wangp@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China.

Professor Penglin Wang is the author of Number Conception and Application, 2014. New York: Nova Science Publishers. See the Nova Science Publishers website: https://www.novapublishers.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=51052

Lecturers

 

 

Sofia Blue (Bernstein), PhD
Sofia.Bernstein@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Signal systems in non-human animals, particularly vocal communication in non-human primates;  bioacoustics and cognitive ethology; focus on the Macaca genus


 

Neal Endacott, PhD.
endacott@cwu.edu

Kevin Feeney, PhD. JD                                                Kevin.Feeney@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise:  Cultural Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Psychological Anthropology, Resource Access, Conflicts of Law and Culture, Ethnobotany, Ethnomycology, Religion, Ritual, Shamanism, and issues of Cultural hybridity, Authenticity, and Appropriation.

Ethnographic Specializations:  US/Mexico Border, Southwest, and Great Plains

Mary Lee Jensvold

Mary Lee Jensvold, PhD. Senior Lecturer  jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests and Expertise: chimpanzee sign language studies; ape behavior, communication, & culture; chimpanzee care & enrichment; non-verbal behavior

 

 

Isabella Sarton Miller, PhD., Senior Lecturer                Isabelle.Miller@cwu.edu (See CV)

Interests and Expertise: Bio-cultural Anthropology. Adaptation to extreme environments: High Altitude (Altiplano of Bolivia); Cold (Northern territories, Canada, Alaska); Hot and Humid (Saint Kitts, Caribbean Island.)

Emeritus

 

 

 

Tracy J. Andrews, Professor
andrewst@cwu.edu">mailto:andrewst@cwu.edu">andrewst@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Sociocultural Anthropology; Native Americans; Ecological and Natural Resource Anthropology; Medical Anthropology; Political Ecology; Gender; Minority and International Health Issues; Ethnicity, Identity, and Cultural Dynamics.

John Alsoszatai-Petheo, Professor
JApetheo@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Biological Anthropology and Archaeology, Paleoanthropology, Human Osteology, early lithic technology, and the initial peopling of the Americas. He has traveled widely abroad and in the United States, and has done field research in California, Colorado, Wyoming, New Mexico, and Germany.

Kathleen Barlow, Professor
barlowk@cwu.edu">mailto:barlowk@cwu.edu">barlowk@cwu.edu

Areas of Specialization: Learning and Culture, Childhood, Psychological Anthropology,   Museum Anthropology, Symbolism, Gender, Art and Aesthetics, Material Culture, Regional Ethnography.  

Areas: Melanesia, Oceania, United States

Loran Cutsinger

Loran E. Cutsinger, Associate Professor 
cutsinge@cwu.edu

Interests and Expertise: Economic/ecological anthropology, gender studies, cultural anthropology, Caribbean/Latin America, US, Russia, Middle East, Native Americans of the Northern Rockies. (retired, 2012-2013)

Anne S. Denman, Professor 
denmanne@cwu.edu


Interests and Expertise: Dr. Anne Denman is a cultural anthropologist with particular interest in American Culture, intercultural issues and gender roles. She has done field work in Brittany, France.

William C. Smith, Professor 
smithw@cwu.edu


Interests and Expertise: Archaeology, World Prehistory, Museum Studies, Collections Management, and Computer Applications.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu