Skip to body

Anthropology and Museum Studies

College of the Sciences
Give to COTS

Contact Us

Contact Us
Dean Hall
Phone: (509) 963-3201
E-mail: anthro@cwu.edu

Faculty

J. Hope Amason, Associate Professor
Director, Museum of Culture and Environment

Jessica.Amason@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South


Marwa Ghazali, Assistant Professor

Marwa.Ghazali@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Critical medical anthropology; global health; political economy; violence; displacement; migration; embodiment; trauma; chronic conditions; Africa, Middle East, and US diasporas


Steven Hackenberger, Professor

Steven.Hackenberger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural ecology, archaeology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures


Nicole Jastremski, Assistant Professor
Director, Forensic Certificate

Nicole.Jastremski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, mortuary analysis, paleopathology, taphonomy, identity formation, Ecuador


Patrick M. Lubinski, Professor

Pat.Lubinski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America


Jessica A. Mayhew, Associate Professor
Director, Primate Behavior & Ecology Program

Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primate social behavior and socio-cognition, ethnoprimatology, the large-bodied apes, play behavior


Patrick T. McCutcheon, Professor 
Co-Director, Cultural and Environmental Resource Management

Patrick.McCutcheon@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, evolutionary theoretical perspectives, fieldwork and laboratory methods, archaeometry, lithic analysis, cultural resource management, North American prehistory


Lene Pedersen, Professor
Department Chair

Lene.Pedersen@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural anthropology, visual anthropology, symbolic anthropology, ecological anthropology, ritual, social organization, post-colonialism, southeast Asia (Indonesia), circumpolar north, sub-saharan Africa, natural resource management


Rodrigo F. Rentería-Valencia, Assistant Professor

Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental anthropology, linguistic anthropology, semiotics, visual anthropology, ritual and performance theory, human geography, maritime anthropology, indigenous studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)


Lori K. Sheeran, Professor

Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primates of Asia, primate conservation, primate social behavior


Penglin Wang, Professor

Penglin.Wang@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China


Lecturers

Kathleen Barlow, Ph.D.

Kathleen.Barlow@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Learning and culture, childhood, psychological anthropology, museum anthropology, symbolism, gender, art and aesthetics, material culture, regional ethnography, Melanesia, Oceania, United States


Kristen Drury, M.S.

Kristen.Drury@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Forensic science, firearm and tool mark analysis, latent fingerprint comparison and analysis, crime scene reconstruction, shooting reconstruction, gunshot residue analysis, serial number restoration, microscopy, research and teaching


Mary Lee Jensvold, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests & Expertise: Chimpanzee sign language studies, ape behavior, communication, culture, chimpanzee care & enrichment, non-verbal behavior (see Fauna Foundation)


Timothy McHale, Ph.D

Timothy.McHale@cwu.edu

Web: https://www.tsmchale.com/
Interests & Expertise:  Biocultural perspectives on the evolution of human behavior and physiology; evolution of middle childhood; behavioral endocrinology; life history theory; evolutionary psychology; evolution of human sexuality; sports physiology; competition; Hong Kong children


J.B. Mulcahy, M.S.

jb@chimpsanctuarynw.org

Interests & Expertise: Captive primate welfare, environmental enrichment, chimpanzee behavior (see Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest)


Isabelle Sarton Miller, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

Isabelle.Miller@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Bio-cultural anthropology, adaptation to extreme environments: High altitude (Altiplano of Bolivia), cold (Northern territories, Canada, Alaska), hot and humid (Saint Kitts)


Karisa Terry, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

Karisa.Terry@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Update coming soon!


Emeritus

John Alsoszatai-Petheo, In Memoriam (1949-2019)


Tracy J. Andrews, Ph.D.

Tracy.Andrews@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Sociocultural anthropology, Native Americans, ecological and natural resource anthropology, medical anthropology, political ecology, gender, minority and international health issues, ethnicity, identity, and cultural dynamics


Loran E. Cutsinger, Ph.D.

Loran.Cutsinger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Economic/ecological anthropology, gender studies, cultural anthropology, Caribbean/Latin America, US, Russia, Middle East, Native Americans of the Northern Rockies


Anne S. Denman, In Memorium (1938-2020)


Raymond A. Hall, In Memoriam (1949-2018)


William C. Smith, Ph.D.

William.Smith@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, world Prehistory, museum studies, collections management, and computer applications

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu