Skip to body

Anthropology and Museum Studies

College of the Sciences

Faculty

Anthropology Faculty

Photo of Dr. J. Hope Amason

J. Hope Amason, Associate Professor
Director Museum of Culture and Environment

Jessica.Amason@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Political economy and globalization, politics of representation, race, class, and gender, museums, memorials, and heritage sites, tourism studies, Appalachia, US South


Marwa GhazaliMarwa Ghazali, Assistant Professor

Marwa.Ghazali@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Critical medical anthropology; global health; political economy; violence; displacement; migration; embodiment; trauma; chronic conditions; Africa, Middle East, and US diasporas. 
 


Photo of Dr. Steve Hackenberger

Steve Hackenberger, Professor

Steven.Hackenberger@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural ecology, archaeology, cultural resource management, North America, Meso-America and Caribbean cultures


Photo of Dr. Nicole Jastremski

Nicole Jastremski, Assistant Professor
Director Forensic Certificate

Nicole.Jastremski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, mortuary analysis, paleopathology, taphonomy, identity formation, Ecuador


Photo of Dr. Lubinski

Patrick M. Lubinski, Professor

Pat.Lubinski@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, zooarchaeology, methods, cultural resource management, western North America


Photo of Dr. Jessica Mayhew

Jessica A. Mayhew, Assistant Professor
Director Primate Behavior & Ecology Program

Jessica.Mayhew@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, primate social behavior and socio-cognition, ethnoprimatology, the large-bodied apes, play behavior

 


Photo of Dr. Patrick McCutcheon

Patrick T. McCutcheon, Professor 
Co-Director Cultural and Environmental Resource Management

Patrick.McCutcheon@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, evolutionary theoretical perspectives, fieldwork and laboratory methods, archaeometry, lithic analysis, cultural resource management, North American prehistory


Photo of Dr. Lene Pedersen

Lene Pedersen, Professor
Department Chair

Lene.Pedersen@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Cultural anthropology, visual anthropology, symbolic anthropology, ecological anthropology, ritual, social organization, post-colonialism, southeast Asia (Indonesia), circumpolar north, sub-saharan Africa, natural resource management


Photo of Dr. Rodrigo Renteria-Valencia

Rodrigo F. Rentería-Valencia, Assistant Professor

Rodrigo.Renteria@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Environmental anthropology, linguistic anthropology, semiotics, visual anthropology, ritual and performance theory, human geography, maritime anthropology, indigenous studies. Ethnographic Specialization: the greater Southwest (including northern Mexico)


Photo of Dr. Lori Sheeran

Lori K. Sheeran, Professor
(on sabbatical 2019-2020)

Lori.Sheeran@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Biological anthropology, Tibetan macaques, tourism, and aging, gibbon behavior, ecology, and conservation, primate conservation, primate social behavior


Photo of Dr. Penglin Wang

Penglin Wang, Professor

Penglin.Wang@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, linguistics, cognitive anthropology, cultural anthropology, Asian studies, Central Eurasia, China

Lecturers

Photo of Dr. Kathleen Barlow

Kathleen Barlow, Ph.D.

Kathleen.Barlow@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Learning and culture, childhood, psychological anthropology, museum anthropology, symbolism, gender, art and aesthetics, material culture, regional ethnography, Melanesia, Oceania, United States


Photo of Dr. Sofi Blue

Sofia Blue (Bernstein), Ph.D.

Sofia.Bernstein@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Signal systems in non-human animals, particularly vocal communication in non-human primates, bioacoustics and cognitive ethology, focus on the Macaca genus


Photo of Kristen Drury, M.S.

Kristen Drury, M.S.

Kristen.Drury@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Forensic science, firearm and tool mark analysis, latent fingerprint comparison and analysis, crime scene reconstruction, shooting reconstruction, gunshot residue analysis, serial number restoration, microscopy, research and teaching


Photo of Dr. Mary Lee Jensvold

Mary Lee Jensvold, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

jensvold@faunafoundation.org

Interests & Expertise: Chimpanzee sign language studies, ape behavior, communication, culture, chimpanzee care & enrichment, non-verbal behavior


  Photo of JB Mulcahy, M.S.

J.B. Mulcahy, M.S.

jb@chimpsanctuarynw.org

Interests & Expertise: Captive primate welfare, environmental enrichment, chimpanzee behavior (see Chimpanzee Sanctuary Northwest)


Photo of Dr. Isabelle Sarton-Miller

Isabella Sarton Miller, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

Isabelle.Miller@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Bio-cultural anthropology, adaptation to extreme environments: High altitude (Altiplano of Bolivia), cold (Northern territories, Canada, Alaska), hot and humid (Saint Kitts)


Photo of Dr. Karisa Terry

Karisa Terry, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer

Karisa.Terry@cwu.edu

Interests & Expertise: Update coming soon!

Emeritus

Photo of Dr. John Alsoszatai-Petheo

John Alsoszatai-Petheo

In Memoriam 1949-2019

 

 

 

Photo of Dr. Tracy Andrews

Tracy J. Andrews (Tracy.Andrews@cwu.edu)

Interests & Expertise: Sociocultural anthropology, Native Americans, ecological and natural resource anthropology, medical anthropology, political ecology, gender, minority and international health issues, ethnicity, identity, and cultural dynamics

 

Photo of Dr. Loran Cutsinger

Loran E. Cutsinger (Loran.Cutsinger@cwu.edu)

Interests & Expertise: Economic/ecological anthropology, gender studies, cultural anthropology, Caribbean/Latin America, US, Russia, Middle East, Native Americans of the Northern Rockies

Photo of Dr. Anne Denman

Anne S. Denman (Anne.Denman@cwu.edu)

Interests & Expertise: American culture, intercultural issues and gender roles, Brittany, France

 

 

Raymond Hall photograph

Raymond A. Hall

In Memoriam 1949-2018
 

 

 

Photo of Dr. William Smith

William C. Smith (William.Smith@cwu.edu)

Interests & Expertise: Archaeology, world Prehistory, museum studies, collections management, and computer applications

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu