Skip to body

Africana

College of Arts & Humanities

Africana and Black Studies Faculty

NAMECONTACTDISCIPLINETITLE


Bobby Cummings, PhD

Phone:  (509) 963-1075
Office:  Michaelsen 104

Bobby.Cummings@cwu.edu
When emailing Dr. Cummings, please use Arial Black font, size 18.

English Department

English, Curriculum, Rhetoric and Composition, African American Literature

Program Director/Advisor and Professor

Masonya Bennett, ABD

Phone: (509) 963-1918
Office:  Randall Hall 234

Masonya.Bennett@cwu.edu

Research interests: Race and Racialization in Latin America and the Caribbean; Immigration in the U.S. South; Race, space, and place; Material culture and Affect; Identity, Subjectivity and Subject formation in the African Diaspora; Black Popular Culture(s); Comparative Histories of the Black Atlantic; U.S-Central American/Latin American Relations in the early 20th century

Lecturer

Michelle O'Brien, PhD

Office: L&L 403H
Michelle.O'Brien@cwu.edu
Teaching interests: Postcolonial literature, critical race studies, interdisciplinary gender studies, and transnational/transpacific literary studiesAssistant Professor of English

Cynthia Pengilly, PhD

Office: L&L 408C
Phone:  (509) 963-1557
Cynthia.Pengilly@cwu.edu
Teaching interests: Digital Pedagogy, Visual and Cultural Rhetorics, Technical WritingAssistant Professor of English

Natashia Lindsey, PhD

Office: McConnell 107E
Phone: (509) 963-1750
Natashia.Lindsey@cwu.edu

Broadly, her research examines the many intersections of performance and race.Assistant Professor of Theatre Arts

Andre Dickerson, MA, MBA

Office: SURC 256
Phone:  (509) 963-1850
Andre.Dickerson@cwu.edu

Center for Leadership and Community Engagement

Born and raised in South Central Los Angeles, he is a first generation college graduate and previous hip-hop recording artist who has performed with superstar artists Snoop Dogg, Lupe Fiasco, Nipsey Hussle, and Chris Brown.

Director, Center for Leadership & Community Engagement


Delores Cleary, PhD

Phone: 509-963-2152/2195
 

Delores.Cleary@cwu.edu
Sociology

more information

Sociology, Ethnic Studies, American Indian StudiesVice President for Inclusivity and Diversity - President's Office


Paulus Pimomo, PhD

Office: L&L 408F

Paulus.Pimomo@cwu.edu

English Department

more information

English, Post Colonial Studies, African American and British LiteratureProfessor of English


Charles Reasons, PhD, JD

Phone:  (509) 963-1779
Office: Ferrell Hall 3rd Floor

Charles.Reasons@cwu.edu
Law and Justice

Criminology, Criminal Justice, LawProfessor of Law and Justice


Todd Schaefer, PhD

Phone:  (509) 963-3675
Office:  Psych 413

Todd.Schaefer@cwu.edu
Political Science

more information

Political Science

African Politics, Media

Professor of Political Science


Nelson Pichardo, PhD

Phone: (509) 963-1348
Office:  Samuelson 232

Nelson.Pichardo@cwu.edu
Sociology

more information

Sociology, Ethnic StudiesProfessor of Sociology


Teresa Divine, JD, LLM

Phone:  (509) 963-3242
Office:  Ferrell 343

Teresa.Divine@cwu.edu
Law and Justice

Criminal Law, Correctional LawAssociate Professor of Law and Justice

Pedro (Xavier) Cavazos, M.F.A.

Phone:  (509) 963-1573
Office:  L&L 416-D

Pedro.Cavazos@cwu.edu
English Department

more information

PoetryLecturer

Lacy Ferrell, PhD

Phone:  (509) 963-1854
Office:  L&L 100-G

Lacy.Ferrell@cwu.edu
History Department

more information

Childhood, educaiton, colonialism, and gender. African HistoryAssistant Professor of History

 

Take the Next Step to Becoming a Wildcat.

Admissions@cwu.edu