## Student Tech Fee Council Minutes

December 9, 2021 Via Teams @ 9am

Present: Bea Padilla, Julio Espinola, Jared Gogel, Jaycob Mace, Nik Simurdak, Chris

Schedler

**Absent:** Ginny Tomlinson, Alejandra Cruz-Martinez, Niranjan Malla, Phuong Nguyen

**Guests:** Stacy Swayze **Minutes:** Bea Padilla

## Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 9:03am by Bea Padilla.

Introductions were made. There is one returning faculty member, Chris Schedler, and one returning student member, Nik Simurdak. All seven student positions are filled, only one faculty member spot is filled, student success is currently working on filling the other faculty position. Bea informed the council on what the Student Tech Fee is and the history of the purchases, projects, and current expenditures. She will send an email listing all the current expenditures.

The council needs a new chair, since Nik is a returning member they were asked if they would be willing to take the position. Nik indicated they would be interested, however, not all members were in attendance so Bea will inform the other students about the chair position to see if there is any interest from them. The council will vote in a new chair the first meeting of winter quarter.

The current budget is \$164,525 which is lower than usual, this is due to the STF being reduced last year and smaller enrollment numbers fall quarter. Usually, the tech fee receives around \$350k for fall quarter, but this past fall they received \$305k. The council will need to be meticulous when approving requests this year.

Since there has not been a council since June 2021, there are four requests pending. These will be reviewed at the first meeting of winter quarter. Two requests are asking to receive chrome books from the council, one is asking to hire a student employee to work in the Lynwood lab at the west side center, the last request is a software request from the registrar office.

Bea is going to send a doodle poll to the council to get winter quarter availability so she can schedule meetings. The meetings will currently be every other week, that might change depending on the budget and the amount of funding requests being sent in.

Meeting adjourned at 9:20am.

Voting
Alejandra Cruz-Martinez
Jaycob Mace
Jared Gogel
Julio Espinola
Phuong Nguyen
Bausav Malla
Nik Simurdak
Chris Schedler

Non-Voting Ginny Tomlinson Bea Padilla